THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions
Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions


First official release of previously-unissued Eric Dolphy studio recordings in over 30 years, including 85-minutes never before released. The groundbreaking alto saxophonist, bass clarinettist and flautist brought us iconic LPs such as 'Out to Lunch!' and 'Outward Bound'.

The 3-CD package is beautifully designed and includes an exhaustive booklet replete with rare and never-before-published photos by Chuck Stewart, Jean-Pierre Leloir, Val Wilmer, Hans Harzheim, Lennart Steen, Roger Marshutz and many others, plus reproductions of the original album covers for Conversations and Iron Man.

Includes five essays that cover different aspects of Eric Dolphy and this music by jazz author/scholar Robin D.G. Kelley, Douglas label manager Michael Lemesre, Japanese Dolphy scholar Masakazu Sato, and co-producers Zev Feldman and James Newton, plus words by John Coltrane, McCoy Tyner, Ornette Coleman and Charles Mingus.

Captured after leaving Prestige/New Jazz Records, and just before recording the timeless classic 'Out to Lunch!' album, 'Musical Prophet' is a 3CD set that contains the under-appreciated masterpieces 'Conversations' and 'Iron Man' recorded in New York City on July 1 and 3, 1963. Originally produced by Alan Douglas - most well-known for his association with Jimi Hendrix, but who also produced classic jazz albums such as 'Money Jungle' with Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus and Max Roach - the tapes had been stored in a suitcase with Dolphy's personal belongings and given to Dolphy's close friends Hale and Juanita Smith just before he embarked on his fateful European trip in 1964.


"Conversations and Iron Man appear on separate CDs with a much improved sound...the set includes 85 minutes of previously unissued music and is a major addition to Dolphy's legacy...Dolphy's unique voice is compelling throughout." - ***** Financial Times

"This three-disc reissue of the albums that did appear, Conversations and Iron Man, adds 85 minutes of material that enrich our understanding of Dolphy beyond his challenging reputation. Indeed, the shock today is how accessible he is. His technical skill, engaging tone and boundless imagination combine to make for a fascinating discovery." - **** The Times

"Eric Dolphy's legacy thrives 54 years after his early death and there is no better introduction than this 3-CD set, which reissues two key studio albums, along with seven unreleased tracks." - **** RTÉ

"Come Sunday" is a standout track with Dolphy and Davis interpreting the Ellington piece in their own unique and often quite startling way. "Ode to Charlie Parker" shows Dolphy at his most conventional and lyrical with a warm solo flute outing. As Dolphy was a musician who rarely repeated himself, the alternate takes here are extremely valuable as (new) unheard music." - Jazz Journal


  1. Name
  2. Jitterbug Waltz
  3. Music Matador
  4. Love Me
  5. Alone Together
  6. Muses For Richard Davis (Previously Unissued 1)
  7. Muses For Richard Davis (Previously Unissued 2)
  8. Iron Man
  9. Mandrake
  10. Come Sunday
  11. Burning Spear
  12. Ode To Charlie Parker
  13. A Personal Statement (Bonus Track)
  14. Music Matador (Alternate Take)
  15. Love Me (Alternate Take 1)
  16. Love Me (Alternate Take 2)
  17. Alone Together (Alternate Take)
  18. Jitterbug Waltz (Alternate Take)
  19. Mandrake (Alternate Take)
  20. Burning Spear (Alternate Take)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock