THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Tribute To The Past-Solo

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Tribute To The Past-Solo
Tribute To The Past-Solo


Pianist and composer Wolfgang Dauner has been one of the most innovative figures in European jazz since the early 1960's and celebrates his 75th birthday in December 2010. His new solo piano recording draws on a wealth of musical experience notably with the United Jazz and Rock Ensemble (with Ian Carr, Eberhard Weber etc), Jean Luc Ponty and his own groups such as the trio which recorded the cult favourite 'Output' for ECM. For many years Dauner worked exclusively for the German label MPS and recorded at their legendary studios in Villingen in The Black Forest. It's only appropriate then that 'Tribute to the Past' should see him return to where it all began, playing the very same Bosendorfer piano that he and other famous musicians were seated at. The music itself is a superb testament to Dauner's creativity and mixes jazz standards and original compositions including a piece by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer, founder of MPS Records. Personnel: Wolfgang Dauner (piano)


  1. Name
  2. Dream Talk
  3. Seikilos Lied
  4. Petronella
  5. Yesterdays
  6. It Ain't Necessarily So
  7. Here Comes De Honey Man
  8. I Loves You Porgy
  9. My Man's Gone Now
  10. Summertime
  11. My Funny Valentine
  12. Bindungen - samt den Fugungen des Zufalls
  13. All The Things You Are
  14. Wheat Song
  15. Hong Kong Fu
  16. Wendekreis des Steinbocks
  17. Blue Light
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite