THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Tourin': Official Bootleg Box Set Vol.4 (4CD)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Box Set
Catalog Number:
Tourin': Official Bootleg Box Set Vol.4 (4CD)
Tourin': Official Bootleg Box Set Vol.4 (4CD)


  • This ongoing series of “Official Bootlegs” now reaches its fourth volume, allowing a glimpse of Humble Pie in their best setting – on stage. In those days there was no MTV, no YouTube and no social media, and music was largely “underground”, often by choice. Groups like Humble Pie didn’t appear on Top Of The Pops, you wouldn’t find them in the tabloid newspapers, nor did they have hit singles, but their popularity on the American live concert circuit in particular was immense. Witness the fact that these concert CDs are being released 40+ odd years later.
  • CD1 was recorded at the Rhein-Neckar-Halle, Eppelheim in Germany on 27th September 1974, and kicks off with the title track from the album they were promoting at the time, ‘Thunderbox’. Although it was their “Performance: Rockin’ The Fillmore” double LP that propelled them into the hearts of the record buying public - especially in America - from which their version of ‘I Don't Need No Doctor’ originally appeared, it was 1972’s “Smokin’” that features heavily here, with ‘The Fixer’, ‘30 Days In The Hole’, Eddie Cochran’s ‘C'mon Everybody’ and ‘Sweet Peace And Time’ included in a hard rockin’ set.
  • Going back to 11th March 1974 at the Boston Music Hall, a similar set also kicks CD2 off with ‘Thunderbox’, as well as Chuck Berry’s ‘No Money Down’ from the same album. Again, the set finishes with Ray Charles’ ‘I Don't Need No Doctor’ from “Performance: Rockin’ The Fillmore”.
  • After delivering 1975’s “Street Rats” LP, Humble Pie split up for the remainder of the decade. Jumping forwards to 1980 when a reformed Pie were promoting their latest “On To Victory” album, the band could be found on 12th March at JB Scott's Theater, Albany, NY, USA. By this time, Humble Pie featured the vastly underrated line-up of Steve Marriott and Jerry Shirley, joined by Anthony Jones on bass, and the highly talented Bobby Tench on guitar and vocals. Featuring ‘Infatuation’ and ‘Fool For A Pretty Face’ from the aforementioned “On To Victory”, unsurprisingly, the set features ‘I Don't Need No Doctor’ and ‘Hallelujah (I Love Her So)’ from “Performance: Rockin’ The Fillmore” and finishes with a fan-pleasing rock ‘n’ roll medley of ‘Route 66’ / ‘Be Bop A Lula’ / ‘Little Queenie’ / ‘Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On’.
  • The following year, the band were promoting the “Go For The Throat” album when they hit Milwaukee’s The Palms on 19th April 1981. “Go For The Throat” kicked off with a cover of Elvis Presley’s ‘All Shook Up’, included here, as well as revisiting the Small Faces classic, ‘Tin Soldier’. With a growing back catalogue, it made sense that tracks would appear in medley form, such as ‘30 Days in the Hole’ / ‘Hallelujah (I Love Her So)’ / ‘I Walk On Gilded Splinters’ as well as ‘Route 66’ / ‘Tulsa Time’.
  • Released in conjunction with Humble Pie’s Jerry Shirley, this collection features an essay from renown Pie expert, Iain McGonigal.


  1. Name
  2. Thunderbox
  3. Sweet Peace And Time
  4. The Fixer
  5. 30 Days In The Hole
  6. Let Me Be Your Lovemaker
  7. C'mon Everybody
  8. I Don't Need No Doctor
  9. Sayonara Tokyo
  10. Gonna Get Better (1981 Version)
  11. Thunderbox
  12. Sweet Peace And Time
  13. 30 Days In The Hole
  14. Four Day Creep
  15. Medley: I Just Want To Make Love To You / No Money Down / Rollin Stone
  16. Let Me Be Your Lovemaker
  17. C'mon Everybody
  18. I Don't Need No Doctor
  19. I Don't Need No Doctor
  20. Infatuation
  21. Hallelujah (I Love Her So)
  22. 30 Days In The Hole
  23. Fool For A Pretty Face
  24. Medley: Route 66 / Be Bop A Lula / Little Queenie / Whole Lotta Shakin Goin On
  25. I Don't Need No Doctor
  26. Infatuation
  27. All Shook Up
  28. Jerry's Drum Solo
  29. 30 Days In The Hole / Hallelujah (I Love Her So) / I Walk On Gilded Splinters
  30. Tune Up
  31. Fool For A Pretty Face
  32. Route 66 / Tulsa Time
  33. Tin Soldier
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock