Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

New Release

The School Report 1978-2008 (5CD Book Set)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Box Set
Catalog Number:


  • In-depth box set, delving right back to the band’s pub rock roots right up until the present.
  • A celebration of Girlschool’s 40 plus years of rocking the globe, kicking off with their independently released 45 ‘Take It All Away’ b/w ‘It Could Be Better’.

Formed at school in the mid-70s, when friends Kim McAuliffe on guitar and bassist Enid Williams joined forces as Painted Lady, Girlschool formed in 1978, swept up as part of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal movement that also gave us Iron Maiden, Def Leppard and Saxon, recruiting lead guitarist Kelly Johnson and drummer Denise Dufort in April 1978.

Debut LP ‘Demolition’ made it into the UK Top 30 in 1980, and the girls even found time while recording their follow up album ‘Hit And Run’ (1981) with producer Vic Maile, to record the ‘St Valentines Day Massacre’ EP with label mates Motörhead as HeadGirl.1982’s ‘Wildlife’ EP would be Enid’s last outing with Girlschool for a while, as she was replaced on bass by Gil Weston for ‘Screaming Blue Murder’ (1982).

Their fourth album, ‘Play Dirty’ (1983), was issued in the States on Mercury Records, who also picked up the option to release their fifth, ‘Running Wild’ (1985). The first album to be released without Kelly Johnson, it saw founder members Kim McAulliffe and Denise Dufort joined by Gil Weston, Jackie Bodimead (lead vocals, keyboards) and Cris Bonacci (guitar).

A new deal with GWR saw albums ‘Nightmare At Maple Cross’ (1986) and ‘Take A Bite’ (1988), by which time the bass slot had been filled by former Rock Goddess Tracey Lamb. Their eighth studio album, the self-titled ‘Girlschool’ came out in 1992 and 2002’s ‘21st Anniversary - Not That Innocent’ marked the beginning of a more prolific time for the band, as they would follow it up with ‘Believe’ (2004), ‘Legacy’ (2008).

CD 4 features many rare B-Sides and non-album cuts, as well as demos dating from 1978 up to 2002 and CD5 boasts an ultra rare live recording from the pre-Girlschool Painted Lady.

This five disc set comes with an extended essay from NWOBHM expert John Tucker, and features plenty of pages of rare photos and sought after memorabilia.


  1. Name
  2. Take It All Away (A-side)
  3. It Could Be Better (B-side)
  4. Emergency
  5. Nothing To Lose
  6. Demolition Boys
  7. Not For Sale
  8. Take It All Away
  9. Breakdown
  10. Race With The Devil
  11. Yeah Right
  12. Please Don't Touch (with Motörhead)
  13. Hit And Run
  14. The Hunter
  15. (I'm Your) Victim
  16. Watch Your Step
  17. C'mon Let's Go
  18. Tush
  19. Don't Call It Love (Wildlife EP)
  20. Screaming Blue Murder
  21. It Turns Your Head Around
  22. You Got Me
  23. Take It From Me
  24. 1-2-3-4 Rock And Roll
  25. 20th Century Boy
  26. Play Dirty
  27. Running For Cover
  28. High & Dry
  29. Going Under
  30. Burning In The Heat
  31. Nowhere To Run
  32. Are You Ready?
  33. Let Me Go
  34. Running Wild
  35. Love Is A Lie
  36. Nasty Nasty
  37. Back For More
  38. All Day All Night
  39. You've Got Me (Under Your Spell)
  40. Let's Go Crazy
  41. Play With Fire
  42. Head Over Heels
  43. Action
  44. Love At First Bite
  45. Too Hot To Handle
  46. My Ambition
  47. Can't Say No
  48. Can't Do That
  49. Take Me I'm Yours
  50. Innocent
  51. Knife
  52. Coming Your Way
  53. Mad Mad Sister
  54. Let's Get Hard
  55. Secret
  56. You Say
  57. Passion
  58. Other Side
  59. I Spy (Dio/Iommi Mix)
  60. Legend
  61. Metropolis
  62. Furniture Fire (B-side)
  63. Nothing To Lose (7" edit)
  64. Bomber (St Valentine's Day)
  65. Emergency (St Valentine's Day)
  66. Tonight (B-side)
  67. Demolition Boys (Live B-side)
  68. Tonight (Live B-side)
  69. Wildlife
  70. Don't Stop
  71. Tush
  72. Don't Call It Love
  73. 1-2-3-4 Rock And Roll (ext ver)
  74. Like It Like That (B-side)
  75. Let's Spend The Night Together
  76. Just Don't Care
  77. Nothing To Lose
  78. Baby Doll
  79. Not For Sale
  80. Running Wild
  81. Love Is A Lie
  82. I Told You So
  83. Have A Nice Day
  84. London
  85. I Wanted To Boogie
  86. Be My Lover
  87. Smoke On The Water
  88. King Of The Blues
  89. Sometime World
  90. Rub It In
  91. I Saw Her Standing There
  92. All Along The Watchtower
  93. Paper Plane
  94. Johnny B. Goode
  95. Shoot Shoot
  96. How Can I Tell You
  97. Cant Get Enough
  98. All Right Now
  99. Knocking On Heavens Door
  100. Gimme Some Loving
  101. Honky Tonk Women
  102. Changes Coming
  103. Hey Joe
  104. You Keep Me Hanging On
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite