THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Rock Until You Drop - The 4CD Over The Top Edition

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:


  • Expanded 4CD edition of Raven’s debut album ‘Rock Until You Drop’
  • With demo’s, single B-sides, and two incendiary live recordings
  • For fans of Diamond Head, Iron Maiden, Metallica

“Rock Until You Drop’ is the best LP to emerge out of the NWOBHM since Saxon’s ‘Wheels Of Steel’.” Geoff Barton, Sounds, 19 September 1981

Although Raven were very much part of the NWOBHM of the late ’70s and early ’80s, brothers Mark and John Gallagher had formulated the idea of creating their own rock group way back in 1972. With John on bass and vocals and Mark on lead guitar, they played their first gig in 1975, building up a loyal following across the North East of England. Recording a rudimentary demo in 1978, included here on CD2. Signed to Neat Records, they recorded further demos, by which time they had trimmed down to a power-trio when the Gallaghers were joined by Rob “Wacko” Hunter on drums. Neat would release their debut 45 ‘Don’t Need Your Money’ in 1980 and make Raven the lead act with ‘Inquisitor’ on the cassette compilation, ‘Lead Weight’.

Raven released their debut LP ‘Rock Until You Drop’ in 1981 successfully capturing the energy of their live shows, the album picked up instant champions across the influential UK rock press, with key features in Kerrang! and Sounds. These would lead to important shows with Ozzy Osbourne, Whitesnake and Motörhead, among many others. These self-styled “athletic rockers” were a huge influence on future Thrash and Speed Metal bands, such as Slayer, Megadeth, and Testament, and also on Metallica, with whom they would later co-headline with.

Their live sound was captured illicitly by a fan on tape while on tour in Italy in December 1982, and is featured here in its entirety, the collection completed by their May 1982 performance at Manchester’s Apollo.

As well as an extensive essay from NWOBHM expert John Tucker, this “4CD Over The Top Edition” of ‘Rock Until You Drop’ also features a 24 page booklet featuring many rare and unpublished photos supplied from the band’s own archive.

While Every Effort Has Been Made To Ensure Optimum Sound Quality, Due To The Limitations Of The Audio Sources On Some Of These Recordings, They Have Been Included For Their Historical Importance And Do Not Represent The Fidelity Of The Professional Studio Recordings.


  1. Name
  2. Hard Ride
  3. Hell Patrol
  4. Dont Need Your Money
  5. Over The Top
  6. 39/40
  7. For The Future
  8. Rock Until You Drop
  9. Nobodys Hero
  10. Hellraiser / Action
  11. Lambs To The Slaughter
  12. Tyrant Of The Airways
  13. Wiped Out (Dont Need Your Money B-Side)
  14. Crazy World (Hard Ride B-Side)
  15. Let it Rip (from Brute Force)
  16. Inquisitor (from Lead Weight)
  17. Dont Need Your Money
  18. Let It Rip
  19. Wiped Out
  20. Inquisitor
  21. Come Up And See Me
  22. Cry Wolf
  23. Hitting The Road
  24. On The Hunt
  25. Going Home
  26. Turn It Down
  27. Hit And Run
  28. Faster Than The Speed Of Light
  29. Hard Ride
  30. Hell Patrol 
  31. Read All About It
  32. Tyrant Of The Airways
  33. Drum Solo
  34. Crazy World
  35. Firepower
  36. Hold Back The Fire
  37. Rock Until You Drop 
  38. Hellraiser / Action
  39. Crash Bang Wallop
  40. Guitar Solo
  41. Wiped Out
  42. For The Future 
  43. Dont Need Your Money
  44. Bass Solo
  45. Chainsaw
  46. Hard Ride
  47. Hell Patrol
  48. Rock Until You Drop
  49. Tyrant Of The Airways 
  50. Bring the Hammer Down
  51. For The Future
  52. Dont Need Your Money 
  53. Radio Metro interview with Alan Robson
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite