THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Killers In The Battlezone 1986-2000 (3CD Clamshell Box)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Killers In The Battlezone 1986-2000 (3CD Clamshell Box)
Killers In The Battlezone 1986-2000 (3CD Clamshell Box)


  • Three classic albums from NWOBHM stalwart and former Iron Maiden vocalist Paul Di’Anno
  • Includes his two mid-80s albums as Battlezone where he was joined by Tokyo Blade’s John Wiggins
  • Plus his later band Killers, caught live in 2000.

Paul Di’Anno’s name will probably always be inextricably linked to that of Iron Maiden, the world conquering metal band he fronted from 1978-1981, recording their first two ground-breaking albums, ‘Iron Maiden’ in 1980 and ‘Killers’ in 1981. After Bruce Dickinson joined at the end of 81, with Iron Maiden going onto worldwide success, Di’Anno fronted a series of bands in the early 1980s, including Lonewolf, Di’Anno and the NWOBHM super-group, Gogmagog, before forming Battlezone in 1985.

Battlezone came about when Di’Anno joined forces with Tokyo Blade’s John Wiggins plus John Hurley from Deep Machine, both on lead guitar, with the line-up completed by Peter West on bass and Bob Falck on drums. Signing to Powerstation Records, they released ‘Fighting Back’ in 1986, produced with Ian Richardson.

By the time Battlezone came to record 1987’s ‘Children Of Madness’, for Raw Power, Hurley and Falck had been replaced by guitarist Graham Bath and drummer Steve Hopgood, both from Persian Risk. Making plenty of headway in the States due to some heavy touring, they even made it onto MTV with the track ‘I Don't Wanna Know’. Unfortunately, the band were unable to capitalize on their hard work and split up shortly after.

Joining forces with Battlezone’s Graham Bath and Steve Hopgood, Paul Di’Anno’s new band, Killers, was completed by Cliff Evans on bass and Gavin Cooper on guitar, that line up is featured on CD3 recorded live at Los Angeles’ Whisky A Go Go in 2000. A real treat for Iron Maiden fans, the band revisits and embraces the songs that originally made their singer famous, with versions of ‘Wrathchild’, ‘Remember Tomorrow’, ‘Phantom Of The Opera’ and ‘Sanctuary’, alongside originals such as ‘Impaler’ and ‘Protector’, as well as T Rex’s ‘Children Of The Revolution’.

‘Rising Star’, a track which originally appeared on the ‘Warchild’ compilation is included as a ‘Fighting Back’ bonus track on CD1, and ‘To The Limit’ originally only a Japanese exclusive, plus ‘Drawn Under’ from the 1989 ‘Elementals: UK HM’ compilation, are added as bo


  1. Name
  2. (Forever) Fighting Back
  3. Welcome To The Battlezone
  4. Warchild
  5. In The Darkness
  6. The Land God Gave To Caine
  7. Running Blind
  8. Too Much To Heart
  9. Voice On The Radio
  10. Welfare Warriors
  11. Feel The Rock
  12. Rising Star (from Warchild)
  13. Rip It Up
  14. I Don't Wanna Know
  15. Nuclear Breakdown
  16. Torch Of Hate
  17. Whispered Rage
  18. Children Of Madness
  19. Metal Tears
  20. It's Love
  21. Overloaded
  22. The Promise
  23. To The Limit (Japanese Exclusive Track)
  24. Drawn Under (from Elementals)
  25. Impaler
  26. Wrathchild
  27. A Song For You
  28. Marshall Lokjaw
  29. Children Of The Revolution
  30. Three Words
  31. Protector
  32. Die By The Gun
  33. Remember Tomorrow
  34. Phantom Of The Opera
  35. Sanctuary
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite