THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The House of Mercy

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The House of Mercy
The House of Mercy


'The House of Mercy' showcases the many talents of British blueser Bex Marshall - lead vocals, guitar and writer and producer of all eleven tracks. In the company of a stellar mix of US and local blues and Americana talent, Blues meets Gospel and Bluegrass with an exciting British twist. With comparisons to Memphis Minnie, Joan Armatrading, JJ Cale, Derek Trucks and "Bonnie Raitt and Led Zep jamming in an everglade moonshine joint", Bex's writing has been called timeless, with touches of genius. There are guest appearances from the legendary Dobro player BJ Cole, Hayseed Dixie band members Don Wayne Reno (banjo), Dale Reno (mandolin) & Jake Byers (acoustic bass), harmonica wizard Steve Lockwood, fiddle queen Eileen Healy and Nashville blues sweetheart Brigitte De Meyer as well as the new blues lovin' line up with gospel singer Shola Adegoraye, Keyboard hero Toby Baker, stand up bass god Barry Payne, voodoo percussionist Danny Bryan and drum funkster Crispin Taylor. In spite of all that talent, Neil Spencer in his Uncut review states that "Marshall's powerhouse persona dominates, winningly she does down'n'dirty blues on "Gone Fishin'", evokes Janis Joplin on the sparse "Bite Me", goes acoustic for the tender "Barry's Song" and contributes tasty slide and Knopfleresque runs throughout."


  1. Name
  2. House of Mercy
  3. Love
  4. Bite Me
  5. Gone Fishin
  6. Rent My Room
  7. Rattlesnake
  8. Tough Times
  9. Big Man
  10. Bourbon Street
  11. Barrys Song
  12. Guilty
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock