THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

J'ai Traversé La Mer

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
J'ai Traversé La Mer
J'ai Traversé La Mer


Avant-garde percussionist, singer, self-taught trumpet player, composer and author, Edmony Krater, since the late 1970s has been a go to reference for French Caribbean music and all things Gwakasonné.  This Guadelopean great had been somewhat quiet since the mid 80s, however in 2019, after the recording of a live show for Cult Berlin club night, African Acid Is The Future that received a release via The Vinyl Factory, his light was relit.  Prior to this, in 2015, along with Diggers Digest, Paris based Heavenly Sweetness reissued the highly sought after 1988 album, 'Ti Jan Pou Velo' and Edmony began to stir up rumours of new material coming.  2018 saw his first foray into new recordings, HeavenlySweetness released 'An Ka Sonjé', a record garnishing praise from Pan African Music, and he now readies his second for the label with, 'J'ai Traversé La Mer' (I've Crossed The Sea) Like the hundreds of thousands before him, Edmony Krater also crossed the sea. Pulled from Africa, caught up in the violent and absurd logic of triangular trade. Slaves were forced to America, the Caribbean and Europe, where many descendants have since become famous writers, poets, leaders, athletes and of course, musicians.


  1. Name
  2. Météw Byen
  3. Arawak & Karayb
  4. Natibel
  5. Kontak
  6. Dlo Pou Viv
  7. Yo Vini Pou Dansé
  8. Sé Tan Nou
  9. J'ai Traversé La Mer
  10. Fò Kontinyé Goumé
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock