THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Fear and the Framing

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Fear and the Framing
Fear and the Framing


In 2011 the Dutch singer-songwriter Jessica Sligter released her critically acclaimed debut album, 'Balls and Kittens, Draught and Strangling Rain', on the Hubro label under the name of JÆ. Journalists compared her to Will Oldham, Linda Perhacs, Josephine Foster, Scott Walker and Morrisey (!). Now, for her second album, Jessica is leaving the name JÆ behind her and is fronting the project under her real name. This 180g vinyl edition is limited to only 500 copies Worldwide. Jessica has toured extensively in Scandinavia and Western Europe in the past few years, and has built up a group of devoted fans. Jessica still commutes between Norway and the Netherlands, and the album, 'Fear and the Framing', was recorded with friends from the music scenes in Oslo, Bergen and Amsterdam. Sligter has a unique ability to form intriguing band constellations and to bring out the distinctive qualities of each musician. Jessica has taken a number of radical steps, musically speaking, since her previous solo album. While her debut was folk-infused and acoustic, this new album is more electric and sombre. Jessica's characteristic vocals remain the primary focus, but there is something ominous in both her lyrics and the massive, atmospheric soundscapes. 'Fear and the Framing' is a courageous album from a distinctive singer-songwriter of substance. The album was produced by Jessica Sligter, recorded by Juhani Silvola and Jessica in Oslo and Amsterdam, and mixed by Randall Dunn (Splashgirl, Earth, Boris, Black Mountain) at Avast Studio, Seattle.


  1. Name
  2. Man Who Scares Me
  3. If That Was Crooked, This Is Straight
  4. Fear (Holland 2011)
  5. The Perfect Vessel
  6. Everly
  7. Scott Will Be Hierarch
  8. Cuckoo
  9. Fuck etc
  10. Pricklet
  11. Fall, here
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock