THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

A Pocket Of Wind Resistance

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
A Pocket Of Wind Resistance
A Pocket Of Wind Resistance


Gatefold 2LP vinyl pressing of previously CD and digital only album released in Nov 2017. A album of the year on Any Decent Music, Songlines, fRoots, The Guardian. A Pocket Of Wind Resistance, created alongside sound designer Pippa Murphy, is the studio adaptation of Polwart's rave-reviewed 'Wind Resistance' show, which premiered at Edinburgh International Festival in 2016.

Five-time winner at The BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards (twice for Best Original Song), Karine Polwart is an established songwriter, composer, performer, musical director and producer. She is also an emergent theatre maker and author. Her most recent solo album Traces (produced by Iain Cook of synth-pop band Chvrches) was shortlisted for both the Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award and BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 'Album of the Year'. The Guardian chose it as international folk-roots release of 2012. Her debut solo album Faultlines won Best Album at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards back in 2005, following six years of touring internationally as a traditional Scots singer with Malinky and Battlefield Band. In association with The Royal Lyceum Theatre and Edinburgh International Festival 2016, Karine wrote, musically directed, and performed Wind Resistance, a critically acclaimed debut work for theatre. A poetic meditation on midwifery, ecology, sanctuary, and solidarity, it combines elements of memoir, essay, myth, sound art and song. Wind Resistance won the Best Music & Sound Award at the CATS (Critics' Awards for Theatre in Scotland) 2017, as well as picking up three other nominations for Best New Play, Best Direction and Best Producer and Karine was also shortlisted for Best Actor 'Scottish Oscar' in the Sunday Herald Culture Awards. Wind Resistance was described by The Telegraph in a 5-star review as "poignant, unflinching and beautiful".


  1. Name
  2. All on a Summers Evening
  3. The Moor Speaks
  4. Lark in the Clear Air 
  5. Labouring and Resting
  6. Tyrannic Mans Dominion
  7. Place To Rest And Mend
  8. A Benediction 
  9. Small Consolation
  10. White Old Woman Of The Night 
  11. Sphagnum Mass For A Dead Queen 
  12. Lullaby For A Lost Mother
  13. Remember The Geese
  14. Molly Simes Welcome To Salters Road 
  15. We Are All Bog Born
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite