THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Sound Machine Groove

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Sound Machine Groove
Sound Machine Groove


Recorded by ethnomusicologist David Evans for High Water Records in 1979 and 1980, these are Burnside's first recordings with electric guitar and also his first with a band. That band was the Sound Machine, a band he literally created himself out of members of his own family, blending raw Mississippi blues with soul, funk, R&B, and other urban flavours to make a marvellous amalgam of his own. Contemporary beats and modern themes like 'Bad Luck City', 'Searching for My Baby', 'Can't Let You Go' and 'Sound Machine Groove' sit nicely longside slower, traditional material like 'Going Down South' and 'Begged For A Nickel', while R.L.'s duets with drummer Calvin Jackson on 'Goin' Away Baby' and 'Long Haired Doney' show a marvellous empathy and interplay. Especially notable is a version of 'Sitting On Top Of The World' with Burnside on slide guitar that, with Jackson's help, neatly evokes the sound and feel of a fife and drum band. Although Burnside was hailed by the 1990's blues crowd as something of an overnight success, one listen to this disc tells you he was already forging a new chapter in the Mississippi blues tradition with these recordings.


  1. Name
  2. Shake, Little Baby
  3. Rolling And Tumbling
  4. Bad Luck City
  5. Going Down South
  6. Sound Machine Groove
  7. Sitting On Top Of The World
  8. Begged For A Nickel
  9. Can't Let You Go
  10. Jumper Hanging Out On The Line
  11. Searching For My Baby
  12. Long Haired Doney
  13. Pretty Woman
  14. Goin' Away, Baby
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite