THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Chalk / Flint

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Chalk / Flint
Chalk / Flint


"Beautiful, shimmering and wonderful...a stunning new record" - Lauren Laverne

"Real, effortless simplicity" - Jamie Cullum

"Her voice reminds me of Beth Orton, that easy, effortless beauty" - BBC

"Anderson is at her bestwhen she indulges her darker side" - Culture Northern Ireland

Bold, white cliffs adorn the coastline of South East England, its encompassing winds and ambient calm permeate Isobel Anderson's new offering, CHALK / FLINT. Finding herself physically unable to write, due to a debilitating case of tendinitis, Isobel was forced to store her musical vision for the record entirely in her mind.

CHALK / FLINT is evidence of Isobel Anderson's growing songwriting prowess. Forced to change up her methods, Isobel stepped away from her much-loved guitar, and began experimenting with new ways of making music. Isobel explains, "I couldn't use my guitar or a computer for a while. I had to write all the songs in my head, and I'd hold them there for weeks. When my wrist got better, I started writing on the computer, then I gave the songs their flesh."

The hauntingly ambient single Flint Shingle is characterised by the Sussex landscape, as Isobel explains, "it's a love song with a nostalgic, almost regretful, sentiment". Feed Me in comparison is dark yet playful and largely inspired by Glasgow artist Rachel McClean's experimental video piece of the same title. _4284_ tackles issues to do with body autonomy and abortion rights in Northern Ireland and the Republic, alongside more ethereal and electronic tracks Effortless Pain Relief and Chalky White.

Nostalgia ran through Isobel's blood as the record was born, she describes, "The landscape is made up of chalk and flint, they're so different, the chalk turns into a milky liquid, and flint is sharp and hard. The chalk is my skin and the flint is my bones."

Although written in her hometown of Sussex, the new album was recorded in her adopted home of Belfast, at Millbank Studios. Isobel teamed up with Pledge Music for this release, in an effort to involve her audience in the album process. Inspired by the likes of Portishead, Bon Iver and Nick Drake, CHALK / FLINT stands tall next to the domineering cliffs of its birthplace, with the dense instrumental and vocal harmonies, alongside the layered soundscapes, a nod to Isobel's MA and PhD in Sound Art.

Isobel Anderson has created a symphony by the sea in CHALK / FLINT, a true sonic triumph.


  1. Name
  2. Intro
  3. Flint Shingle
  4. _4248_
  5. Effortless Pain Relief
  6. Chalky White
  7. Motherchild
  8. Watch You Leave
  9. Terra Incognita
  10. Through The Arcade
  11. With You
  12. Intro
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock