THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Wo Men

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Wo Men
Wo Men


After receiving waves of support for her new EP 'Plane Crash' at the end of 2017, Bonnie Li returns with news of her debut studio album 'W 466; Men', arriving via Icons Creating Evil Art.

Growing up in China, Bonnie Li has always had an acute sense of the way the world views women and femininity. When asked about the album, the front woman said, "In Mandarin 'w 466;' means I/myself, 'w 466; men' is translated into 'we/us'; and if you skip the space in between it gives you 'women', I wanted to play around with that. "

'W 466; Men' sits as a part-autobiographical, part-fiction collection that aims to explore the emotions and fears Bonnie Li has experienced these past 2 years.

She explains, "W 466; Men represents this quest to get my identity back, this feeling of being lost, of guilt, an anxiety attack permanently suppressed, this feeling of suffocating under strong and happy appearances. 10 different tracks as 10 different searches for oneself. It's organic, dynamic and fragile, distorted as a mirror to my emotions and fears, sensitive and dark'.

Previewed by the latest cut 'I want you to Die', self-described as "It's as if The Ronettes were doing a jam with The Kills in a movie by David Lynch", the artist has looked to produce a contrast to the record's lead single 'Décroche'. By breaking away from the album's general dynamic, she has been able to tap into a more sombre tone that highlights her more playful side.

Written over the course of the last year, 'W 466; Men' was arranged with Elia M and produced by regular collaborator Paolo Pizzuto in their new home in Berlin, setting the start of a new evolution for the artist. With the use of further instrumentation and adopting a more dark-pop aesthetic, Bonnie Li sees the release as the start of a new beginning for her, experimenting further and moving away from her trip-hop-inspired origins.

The album looks to be a beacon of coveted thoughts; speaking opinions that you know you shouldn't, channelling an insecurity in a search for yourself. Bonnie Li has used her creative output to reach out to those that may also be feeling the same way. It's ok to be lost; it's ok to be taking different paths, different ways. What matters is to keep on going; in the end you will find yourself.


  1. Name
  2. Particular Complexions
  3. Stars Fall Down
  4. Lost Case
  5. I Want You To Die
  6. W? Men
  7. Black & White
  8. Décroche
  9. Hey Man
  10. Don't Worry Feat. Al'tarba
  11. Sweet Tongue
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock