THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Tropical Thunderstorm

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Tropical Thunderstorm
Tropical Thunderstorm


'Tropical Thunderstorm', written and performed by crossover star Constance Hauman, this jazz/pop fusion album features Hauman (voice & keyboards) and Ross Pederson (percussion). It features ten tracks that span a diversity of genres feature Hauman's inimitable vocals, jazz-based instrumental pieces and compelling structured improvisations.

One of the most versatile performing artists on today's contemporary music scene, Hauman's rich imagination continually leads her to new realms of self-expression and artistic creation. In 'Tropical Thunderstorm she explores the complex facets of desire: erotic, platonic, insatiable, restrained yet most profoundly, unknowable and driving us towards and away from our most enlightened and darkest impulses.

The concept for the album came about during a violent storm. As Hauman relates. "I wrote the title track in Jamaica during an actual tropical thunderstorm. My emotions were all over the place, something I often experience when I begin channeling music. I was overcome by a tidal wave of melody, harmony, lyrics and emotion. It's like an interior storm I can't control."

'Tropical Thunderstorm' is the next step in the musical partnership of Hauman and percussionist / multi-instrumentalist, Ross Pederson. Their collaboration has resulted in the internationally critically acclaimed albums 'Falling Into Now' (2015), 'High Tides' (2019) and the EPs 'The Quarantine Trilogy' parts 1,2 and 3. These recordings mark the evolution and progression of Hauman's journey from a classical singer to a singer/songwriter to a pianist/composer and presently to a place where she brings all of these disciplines together. The recording was co-produced by Hauman and Pederson.


  1. Name
  2. Taking Some Steps Ahead
  3. The Howling
  4. Tropical Thunderstorm
  5. I Didn't Go to Ben Platt
  6. Swag
  7. Boy I Haven't Done That in a While
  8. Away
  9. Something's in the Hallway
  10. It's True
  11. Edge of the Sky
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite