THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Live At Newport: 1959, 1963, 1971

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Box Set
Catalog Number:
Live At Newport: 1959, 1963, 1971
Live At Newport: 1959, 1963, 1971


This is an interesting package that provides the Kenton fan the opportunity to compare three distinct editions of Stan's orchestra. The sound quality is excellent on the first two discs, slightly less on the third. The '59 band really screams on this one, featuring one of the best recorded versions of "Intermission Riff". The '63 Mellophone band tears through the set taking NO prisoners, much to the delight of the 4th of July crowd, who can be heard going absolutely nuts at the conclusion of "Malaguena"!! The 71' band is featured minus Stan, who at the time was recovering from surgery. This does not detract from the thrilling performance presented here. Arranger Ken Hanna's "Macumba suite" is performed and is ample proof that Stan's 70's band was fully equal to the previous bands, capable of heading into wild, unexplored territory with ease!! Detailed notes and great packaging make this well worth the investment


  1. Name
  2. Theme and Variations
  3. Kingfish
  4. Artistry in Rhythm
  5. The Big Chase
  6. Stella By Starlight
  7. It's All Right With Me
  8. Intermission Riff
  9. Mexican Jumping Bean
  10. My Old Flame
  11. La Suerte De Los Tontos
  12. Waltz Of The Prophets
  13. Artistry in Rhythm
  14. Turtle Talk
  15. Stairway to the Stars
  16. Intermission Riff
  17. My Funny Valentine
  18. Stompin' at the Savoy
  19. The Blues Story
  20. It's A Big, Wide, Wonderful World
  21. Sleepy Lagoon
  22. Daydream
  23. You're the Top
  24. Malaguena
  25. Introduction By George Wein & Mike Vaz
  26. Maria
  27. Hank's Opener
  28. Theme from 'Love Story'
  29. Macumba Suite In Four Movements
  30. Malaga
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock