THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Hey Bo Diddley - Rockin' Rollin' Ronnie Hawkins 1958-1961

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


One of R&R's most enduring, larger-than-life characters, the late Ronnie Hawkins earned himself many nicknames over the years - 'Rompin' Ronnie', 'Mr Dynamo', and 'The Hawk' - And although he had to calm it all down a bit after he'd turned eighty, he remained one of R&R's most dynamic live performers until his recent death, in May 2022.

This compilation is drawn from Ronnie's days as a heads-down Rock & Roller at the outset of his long career, built around his singles issued between 1958-61, kicking off with his almost unfeasibly rare debut 45, 'Hey! Bo Diddley' b/w 'Love Me Like You Can'.

Features his two big US hits 'Forty Days' and 'Mary Lou', the latter recorded with The Hawks, who would of course morph into The Band. Also included are further Canadian hits like 'Southern Love', 'Clara', 'The Ballad Of Caryl Chessman', 'Ruby Baby' and 'Cold, Cold Heart'.


  1. Name
  2. Hey! Bo Diddley
  3. Love Me Like You Can
  4. Forty Days
  5. One Of These Days
  6. Mary Lou
  7. Need Your Lovin' (Oh So Bad)
  8. Odessa
  9. Wild Little Willy
  10. Ruby Baby
  11. Dizzy Miss Lizzy
  12. Oh Sugar
  13. What'cha Gonna Do (When The Creek Runs Dry)
  14. My Gal Is Red-Hot
  15. Southern Love
  16. Clara
  17. Lonely Hours
  18. The Ballad Of Caryl Chessman (Let Him Live, Let Him Live, Let Him Live)
  19. Hay Ride
  20. Hey Boba Lou
  21. Dreams Do Come True
  22. Honey Don't
  23. Sick And Tired
  24. You Cheated, You Lied
  25. Baby Jean
  26. Summertime
  27. John Henry
  28. Cold Cold Heart
  29. Nobody's Lonesome For Me
  30. I Feel Good
  31. Come Love
  32. Sexy Ways
  33. Matchbox
  34. Suzie Q
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite