THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Ain't She Sweet!

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Ain't She Sweet!
Ain't She Sweet!


Although Pearl Bailey was born in the same year as Ella Fitzgerald, 1918, she never reached the same heights of acclaim. This was nothing to do with her formidable talent, it is just an example of the vagaries of the music business.Pearl got her first big break with Cab Calloway, then pursued s very successful solo career singing in clubs and cabaret. Her long-lasting marriage to drummer Louis Bellson was a rare mixed race example of it's kind. This thoughtful Jasmine 23 track, 68 minute, compliation of commercial masters, including four sides with Hot Lips Page and the opener with Moms Mabley, exhibits all the warmth and humour expected of Pearl, plus examples of a deeper, sympathetic style.


  1. Name
  2. Saturday Night Fish Fry
  3. The Huckle-Buck
  4. Ain't She Sweet?
  5. Who
  6. Don't Ever Leave Me
  7. I Ain't Talkin' (Though It's All Over Town)
  8. Legalize My Name
  9. Get It Off Your Mind
  10. I Need Ya Like I Need A Hole In The Head
  11. Fifteen Years (And I'm Still Serving Time)
  12. It's A Great Feeling
  13. Row, Row, Row
  14. Frankie And Johnny
  15. St. Louis Blues
  16. That's Good Enough For Me
  17. It's A Woman's Prerogative
  18. Personality
  19. He Didn't Ask Me
  20. Tired
  21. Here You Come With Love
  22. Baby, It's Cold Outside
  23. Solid Gold Cadillac
  24. Hit The Road To Dreamland
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock