THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Airmail Special From Berlin 1959

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Airmail Special From Berlin 1959
Airmail Special From Berlin 1959


Benny Goodman possessed a rare gift, one shared with only a handful of other jazz musicians. The group that Goodman headed during 1959-60 was no exception to the leaders rule of identity, yet it had more claim in its description as All Star than most bands that bear that moniker. Star guest vocalist with the band was Anita ODay. The Benny Goodman All Stars tour of Europe started on 3rd October, 1959, with a concert in Munich and continued for a further three weeks, taking in shows in France, Sweden, Switzerland, Austria and Algeria. On the 22nd the group played a concert at the Sportspalast in Berlins Western zone, an engagement captured on tape by the Armed Forces Radio Service to be re-broadcast at a later date, and now heard on this CD. As expected, familiar Goodman fare gets revised, with Airmail Special, Rachels Dream, Sing, Sing, Sing and a hits medley mixing nostalgia with the ideas of the current band.


  1. Name
  2. Airmail Special
  3. Rachel's Dream
  4. Slipped Disc
  5. Get Happy
  6. Ten-bone
  7. Four Brothers
  8. I Want Yo Be Happy
  9. Honeysuckle Rose
  10. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
  11. Go, Margot, Go!
  12. Gotta Be This Or That
  13. Jam On The Breaks
  14. Boogie Blues/Let Me Off Uptown
  15. Billie's Bounce
  16. When You're Smiling
  17. Raze The Riff
  18. Medley (Don't Be That Way/Stompin' At The Savoy/On The Sunny Side Of The Street/Rose Room/Moonglow
  19. Sing, Sing, Sing (Complete Carnegie Hall Version)
  20. Room 608
  21. Breakfast Feud
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock