THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Genesis of a Genius - Excerpts from Seven Classic Albums

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Genesis of a Genius - Excerpts from Seven Classic Albums
Genesis of a Genius - Excerpts from Seven Classic Albums


Ravi Shankar was perhaps the most well-known, influential and important Indian composer and musician of all time, having effectively introduced Indian music to the Western World and established the sitar as a serious musical instrument on the world stage. This compilation features excerpts from his first seven, critically-acclaimed albums.

These include 'Three Ragas' (1956), 'India's Master Musician' (1958), 'Ragas and Tälas' (1959), 'The Sounds of India' (1960), 'Music of India' (1962), 'Improvisations' (1962) and 'India's Most Distinguished Musician in Concert' (1962). These recordings present the mercurial Shankar at the very peak of his career.

By the time Shankar commenced his recording career in the mid-50s he was already highly-experienced, being in his mid-30s and having been broadcasting regularly and composing both classical and film music since the late 40s. Once his recording career was under way he became quite prolific, sometimes cutting a couple of LPs a year.


  1. Name
  2. Raga Jog
  3. Raga Puriya Dhanashri
  4. Kafi-Holi (Spring Festival Of Colours)
  5. Mishra Piloo
  6. Rupak Tal
  7. Raga Jogiya
  8. An Introduction To Indian Music
  9. Sindhi-Shairavi
  10. Raga Hamsadhwani (Evening Raga)
  11. Dhun Kafi (Spring Season)
  12. Improvisations On The Theme Music From Pather Panchali
  13. Fire Night
  14. Karnataki (Raga Kirvani)
  15. Dhun In Mishra Mand
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock