THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Last Night was Made for Love - The Singles Collection 1959-1962

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Last Night was Made for Love - The Singles Collection 1959-1962
Last Night was Made for Love - The Singles Collection 1959-1962


Perhaps the most successful British artist to never have a #1 record (his biggest hit, "Jealousy", stalled at #2), Billy Fury was one of the biggest home-grown Pop Stars of the pre-Beatles era. This unique compilation presents the A's and B-sides of Billy's first sixteen singles, plus a bonus track, "Fury's Tune", from his first LP, on which he namechecks six of his early 45's.

Although several of his early hits were self-penned rockers - e.g. "Maybe Tomorrow", "Margo (Don't Go)", "Collette", "That's Love" - his record label, Decca, successfully converted him into a purveyor of string-driven beat ballads, e.g. "Wondrous Place", "A Thousand Stars", "Halfway to Paradise", "I'd Never Find Another You", "Last Night Was Made for Love", "Once Upon a Dream".

This set presents a truly phenomenal body of work and serves to confirm that Fury's B-sides were very often as strong as their topsides. Although Bill died in 1983 his popularity remains as high as ever - indeed, there are currently three different 'Tribute' acts touring the UK, each doing good business.


  1. Name
  2. Maybe Tomorrow
  3. Gonna Type A Letter
  4. Margo (Dont Go)
  5. Dont Knock Upon My Door
  6. Angel Face
  7. Time Has Come
  8. My Christmas Prayer
  9. Last Kiss
  10. Collette
  11. Baby How I Cried
  12. Thats Love
  13. You Dont Know
  14. Wondrous Place
  15. Alright, Goodbye
  16. A Thousand Stars
  17. Push Push
  18. Dont Worry
  19. Talkin In My Sleep
  20. Halfway To Paradise
  21. Cross My Heart
  22. Jealousy
  23. Open Your Arms
  24. Id Never Find Another You
  25. Sleepless Nights
  26. Letter Full Of Tears
  27. Magic Eyes
  28. Last Night Was Made For Love
  29. A King For Tonight
  30. Once Upon A Dream
  31. If I Lose You
  32. Because Of Love
  33. Running Around
  34. Furys Tune
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide