THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Surfin' in Outer Space

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Surfin' in Outer Space
Surfin' in Outer Space


The Spotnicks, from Gothenburg, in Sweden, were the first Scandinavian Pop group to become internationally successful, in the early 1960s. This compilation sweeps up everything that they released in 1961-62, featuring their first two LPs, "The Spotnicks" and "Out-A-Space - The Spotnicks In London", plus seven bonus tracks.

Primarily an Instrumentals' group, they had an unusually ethereal sound and style, courtesy of their front man/founder/lead guitarist, Bo Winberg. Winberg was an electronics wizard whose experiments with overdubbing and sped-up tapes made them essentially a studio band, as some of their most well-known numbers could not be accurately reproduced live.

Includes their UK hits "Orange Blossom Special", "The Rocket Man" and "'Hava Nagila". Also their biggest-ever Swedish hit, "Amapola". The bonus tracks include a pair of rare singles released under pseudonyms, covers of The Shadows' 'Kon-Tiki' (credited to The Feenades) and The Tornados' 'Telstar' (as The Shy Ones).

Several of the bonus tracks and vocal sides featured herein are unavailable elsewhere on CD.


  1. Name
  2. Spanish Gypsy Dance
  3. Galloping Guitars
  4. She She Little Sheila
  5. Ghost Riders In The Sky
  6. The Old Spinning Wheel
  7. Hey Good Looking
  8. Johnny Guitar
  9. Git It
  10. Deep In The Heart Of Texas
  11. Endless Walk
  12. My Bonnie
  13. Den Gamla Moralockan (Old Clock At Home)
  14. Midnight Special
  15. Hava Nagila
  16. Orange Blossom Special
  17. Happy Henrik's Polka
  18. Ol Man River
  19. Nightcap
  20. The Spotnicks' Theme
  21. High Flying Scotsman
  22. Moonshot
  23. The Rocket Man
  24. Dark Eyes
  25. My Old Kentucky Home
  26. No Yaga Daga Blues
  27. Thundernest
  28. Amapola
  29. I'm Going Home (To See My Baby)
  30. What'd I Say
  31. Home On The Range
  32. Swing Low Sweet Chariot
  33. The Feenades - Kontiki
  34. The Feenades - Theme From Leningrad
  35. The Shy Ones - Telstar
  36. The Shy Ones - Carry Me Back
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock