THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Hamp's Big Band Play

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Hamp's Big Band Play
Hamp's Big Band Play


The first twelve tracks on this selection feature Lionel Hampton and his Big Band, taken from the 1959 album 'Hamp's Big Band Play. With solid harmonies, full tonal texture and squared off rhythms. Also included are nine bonus tracks.

Lionel Hampton lifts his famous style to new heights with greater emphasis to harmonic design. This is apparent in selections like "Big Brass", "Night Train" and "Airmail Special". At moments the total effect is almost hypnotic and this is especially so on "Cutter's Corner", "Le Chat Noir" and "Hamp's Boogie Woogie".

Not every jazz musician can express himself passionately and equally well on more than one instrument, the secret is improvisation, and it is here that Lionel Hampton is truly gifted and he excels on performances of "Blues for Stephen", "And the Angels Sing", "Lazy Thoughts" and the seminal "Lullaby of Birdland".

There are moments when the rhythms are so powerfully dynamic in force and the resulting mosaic of sound is truly overwhelming in its intensity. This is a must for jazz fans!


  1. Name
  2. Flying Home
  3. Hey, Baba Re Bob
  4. Hamps Boogie Woogie
  5. Kidney Stew
  6. Hamps Mambo
  7. Airmail Special
  8. Big Brass
  9. Red Top
  10. Night Train
  11. Elaine & Daffy
  12. Cutters Corner
  13. Le Chat Noir
  14. Stardust
  15. Tracking Problem
  16. Lullaby Of Birdland
  17. Blues For Stephen
  18. And The Angels Sing
  19. Our Love Is Here To Stay
  20. Just One Of Those Things
  21. Lazy Thoughts
  22. The Man I Love
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock