THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Singles Collection 1956-1962

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Singles Collection 1956-1962
The Singles Collection 1956-1962


Spanning multiple labels and styles, this set finds Mel Tormé in transition with one foot in his blossoming jazz career and the other still looking for hits. Not many could get away with recording (what is probably the definitive version of) "Lulu's back In Town" one moment and novelty tracks like "What's New At The Zoo?" the next, except for the Velvet Fog himself.

Featuring recordings made in London, Los Angeles and New York accompanied by some of the greatest arranging talent of the era, including Ted Heath, Billy May, Russell Garcia and Marty Paich.

It contains all of his UK & US single releases, released between 1956 and 1962, in their original single versions (and in stereo where possible). Many are rare or new to CD in particularly the hideously difficult to find "Wayfaring Stranger" which has not been heard since it's brief single release on the flip side of "Walk Like A Dragon" in 1960.


  1. Name
  2. Lulu's Back In Town
  3. The Lady Is A Tramp
  4. Walkin' Shoes
  5. The Cuckoo In The Clock
  6. Shenandoah Valley
  7. Hooray For Love
  8. Lullaby Of Birdland
  9. I Love To Watch The Moonlight
  10. Waltz For Young Lovers
  11. I Don't Want To Walk Without You
  12. Ev'ry Which Way
  13. Time Was
  14. At The Crossroads (Malaguena)
  15. Frenesi
  16. Walk Like A Dragon
  17. Wayfaring Stranger
  18. The White Cliffs Of Dover
  19. I've Got A Lovely Bunch Of Coconuts
  20. What's New At The Zoo?
  21. Hey, Look Me Over
  22. Yes Indeed!
  23. Her Face
  24. Blue Moon
  25. Moon Song
  26. The Christmas Song
  27. A Shine On Your Shoes
  28. Comin' Home Baby
  29. Right Now
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock