THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

You Know What I Mean

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
You Know What I Mean
You Know What I Mean


Stars of Jack Good's TV shows Oh Boy! and Boy Meets Girls, The Vernons Girls were pretty much a cottage industry of their own, with their various satellites and spinoffs.

A sixteen-girl ensemble when Jack discovered them in 1957, by the turn of the 60s they'd slimmed down to a trio, their ex-members either pursuing solo careers or forming rival vocal duos/trios. Concentrating on their R&R and Pop output, this compilation traces their early careers variously as The Vernons Girls, Two Vernons Girls and spinoffs in the shape of a handful of Lynn Cornell's early solo 45s, plus singles by The De Laine Sisters and The Breakaways.

Includes chart and turntable hits like 'Let's Get Together', 'Madison Time', 'Lover Please', 'Never On Sunday', 'You Know What I Mean', 'The Locomotion' and 'Funny All Over'.

Surprisingly, several of these sides are unavailable elsewhere on CD, making this a must-have for the gals' vast legions of fans.


  1. Name
  2. White Bucks And Saddle Shoes (The Vernons Girls) (Doc Pomus; Mort Shuman)
  3. Lost And Found (The Vernons Girls)
  4. Little Jonah (Two Vernons Girls)
  5. Bad Motorcycle (The Vernons Girls)
  6. There's Never Been A Night (Two Vernons Girls)
  7. Don't Look Now, But... (The Vernons Girls)
  8. T.V. Hop (The Vernons Girls)
  9. Jealous Heart (The Vernons Girls)
  10. Boy Meets Girl (The Vernons Girls)
  11. We Like Boys (The Vernons Girls)
  12. Black And White Thunderbird (The Vernons Girls)
  13. What About Us (The Vernons Girls)
  14. Demon Lover (Lynn Cornell)
  15. Madison Time (The Vernons Girls With Jack Good)
  16. The Oo-We (The Vernons Girls)
  17. What A Feeling (Lynn Cornell)
  18. Never On Sunday (Lynn Cornell)
  19. Ten Little Lonely Boys (The Vernons Girls)
  20. Anniversary Song (The Vernons Girls)
  21. The Sweet Life (La Dolce Vita) (Lynn Cornell)
  22. Let's Get Together (The Vernons Girls)
  23. Moanin' (Lynn Cornell)
  24. Lover Please (The Vernons Girls)
  25. You Know What I Mean (The Vernons Girls)
  26. I Sold My Heart To The Junk Man (Lynn Cornell)
  27. Step Up And Rescue Me (Lynn Cornell)
  28. The Loco-Motion (The Vernons Girls)
  29. Don't Wanna Go (The Vernons Girls)
  30. It Might As Well Rain Until September (The De Laine Sisters)
  31. Puppet On A String (The De Laine Sisters)
  32. Dat's Love (The Vernons Girls)
  33. Be Nice To Him Mama (The Vernons Girls)
  34. He's A Rebel (The Breakaways)
  35. Funny All Over (The Vernons Girls)
  36. See For Yourself (The Vernons Girls)
  37. Just Another Girl (The Vernons Girls)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite