THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Down In The Alley - The Complete Singles As & Bs 1954-1962

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Down In The Alley - The Complete Singles As & Bs 1954-1962
Down In The Alley - The Complete Singles As & Bs 1954-1962


When we talk about those artists who represent the transition between blues/r&b and soul it is usually Ray Charles, James Brown and Sam Cooke who come to the fore. The subject of this 2CD collection, Nappy Brown is not usually in the mix but after you have listened to this collection of his singles released between 1954 and 1962 you will certainly be wondering why. Hear Brown's voice bellow and roar across these 54 tracks and on hits like "Don't Be Angry", "Pitter Patter" and "It Don't Hurt No More". The gospel delivery and arrangement of "The Right Time" caught the attention of a young Ray Charles who was currently hitting the big time with outrageous blues versions of gospel songs. He covered it and retitled it "(Night Time Is) The Right Time" and secured a hit that eventually went on to become a standard. Nappy never compromised his sound despite his huge popularity in the teen pop market and as such this collection really doesn't sound as old as it is.


  1. Name
  2. I Wonder (Whats Wrong With Me)
  3. That Man
  4. Two Faced Woman And A Lying Man
  5. Is It True, Is It True
  6. Dont Be Angry (1955 Version)
  7. Is It Really You
  8. Pitter Patter
  9. Therell Come A Day
  10. Just A Little Love
  11. Well, Well, Well, Baby-La
  12. Doodll I Love You
  13. Sittin In The Dark
  14. Open Up That Door (And Walk Right In My Heart)
  15. Pleasin You
  16. Am I
  17. Love, Baby
  18. Im Getting Lonesome
  19. Little By Little
  20. Pretty Girl (Yea-Yea-Yea)
  21. Im Gonna Get You (Get You Someday)
  22. Goody-Goody-Gum Drop
  23. Bye Bye Baby
  24. The Right Time
  25. Oh You Dont Know
  26. Im In The Mood
  27. If You Need Some Lovin
  28. Skidy Woe
  29. It Dont Hurt No More
  30. My Baby
  31. Youre Going To Need Someone
  32. A Long Time
  33. Allright Now
  34. This Is My Confession
  35. For Those Who Love
  36. I Cried Like A Baby
  37. So Deep
  38. Give Me Your Love
  39. Too Shy
  40. Down In The Alley
  41. My Baby Knows
  42. Baby-Cry-Cry-Cry-Baby
  43. Whats Come Over You Baby
  44. Baby I Got News For You
  45. Apple Of My Eye
  46. The Hole Im In
  47. Nobody Can Say
  48. Coal Miner
  49. Hoonie-Boonie
  50. Any Time Is The Right Time
  51. Dont Be Angry (1961 Version)
  52. Ive Had My Fun
  53. Didnt You Know
  54. The Lock On The Door
  55. So Glad I Dont Have To Cry No More
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock