THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

King Of The Honkers: Selected Singles 1948-1952

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
King Of The Honkers: Selected Singles 1948-1952
King Of The Honkers: Selected Singles 1948-1952


This CD is one of four releases from Jasmine, which present the honking r&b sax blasters from the late 1940s, when they fronted the riffing big bands in the mid to late 50s and were making their own records or providing the sax breaks on endless rock and roll records.

Following on from Willis 'Gator Tail' Jackson & Sam 'The Man' Taylor comes these 29 slices of frantic sax blasting by the one and only Big Jay McNeely. All of these recordings epitomise the style of 'honking' that mesmerised audiences during the immediate post-war years and the early 50s and includes his hits, "Wild Wig" and "The Deacon's Hop".

A Single CD and the limited space of a CD booklet can hardly do justice to the remarkable career of Big Jay but just like its companion CDs from Buddy Lucas, Sam 'The Man' Taylor and Willis 'Gator Tail' Jackson, the music really does speak for itself.


  1. Name
  2. Wild Wig
  3. Deacon's Groove
  4. The Deacons Hop
  5. Arties Jump
  6. Sunday Dinner
  7. California Hop
  8. Man Eater
  9. Cherry Smash
  10. Blow Big Jay
  11. Willie The Cool Cat
  12. Road House Boogie
  13. Hoppin With Hunter
  14. K & H Boogie
  15. Jays Frantic
  16. Deacons Blowout
  17. Lets Split
  18. Real Crazy Cool
  19. All That Wine Is Gone
  20. Insect Ball
  21. Lets Do It (Deacons Hop)
  22. Deacon Rides Again
  23. Blow, Blow, Blow
  24. Jay Walk
  25. Night Ride
  26. Jet Fury
  27. Deacons Express
  28. The Goof
  29. Big Jay Shuffle
  30. Just Crazy
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock