THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Detroit to Chicago - The Tough Blues of John Brim 1950-1956

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Detroit to Chicago - The Tough Blues of John Brim 1950-1956
Detroit to Chicago - The Tough Blues of John Brim 1950-1956


Were it not for his exceptional songwriting talent, John Brim may well have ended up as just a postscript in the history of the blues and specifically the history of Chicago Blues. Here are 27 examples of his art and at the time of release this is the most complete collection of his singles ever released, in fact ten of these tracks remained unreleased for many years.

Includes one of his most famous songs, "Ice Cream Man", which was recorded in 1953 with Little Walter on Harmonica. The track went on to be covered by Van Halen in 1978 and became a very lucrative copyright for John Brim.

Other classic songs include "Tough Times" acknowledged today as one of the finest songs to cover the serious recession affecting the African American population in 1954 and the formidable "Rattlesnake" which is almost the epitome of classic Chicago blues.

Includes fully detailed liner notes.


  1. Name
  2. Strange Man
  3. Mean Man Blues
  4. Bus Driver
  5. Dark Clouds
  6. Lonesome Man Blues
  7. Going Down The Line
  8. Leaving Daddy Blues
  9. Young And Wild
  10. I Love My Baby
  11. Trouble In The Morning
  12. Humming Blues
  13. Man Around My Door
  14. Hospitality Blues
  15. Hard Pill To Swallow
  16. Drinking Woman
  17. Don't Leave Me (No Name Blues)
  18. Moonlight Blues
  19. Rattlesnake
  20. It Was A Dream
  21. Ice Cream Man
  22. Lifetime Baby
  23. Tough Times
  24. Gary Stomp
  25. Go Away
  26. That Ain't Right
  27. I Would Hate To See You Go
  28. You Got Me Where You Want Me
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock