THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

New Release

Back to Korea Blues - Black America and the Korean War

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Back to Korea Blues - Black America and the Korean War
Back to Korea Blues - Black America and the Korean War


'Back to Korea Blues' collects together more blues and R&B songs that this time mainly reflects the disenchantment that African Americans felt as their contributions to the Second World War effort were not always recognised.

Includes songs by such luminaries as, John Lee Hooker, Sunnyland Slim, Jimmy Rogers, Lightnin' Hopkins, Bobby "Blue" Bland and more.

Songs like Sunnyland Slim's "Back To Korea Blues" and John Lee Hooker's "Build Myself A Cave" combine bitterness with jingoism.

Fans of this set will also be interested in 'Win the War Blues' (JASMCD3147) which covers the blues and R&B artists involvement in the Second World War.

Includes fully detailed liner notes.


  1. Name
  2. Cousin Joe - Post-War Future Blues
  3. Slim Gaillard - Atomic Cocktail
  4. Turner Willis - Re-Enlisted Blues
  5. Ivory Joe Hunter - High Cost, Low Pay Blues
  6. Smokey Hogg - Unemployment Blues
  7. John Lee Hooker - Build Myself A Cave
  8. Sunnyland Slim - Back To Korea Blues
  9. J.B. Lenoir - Korea Blues
  10. Sonny Thompson - Uncle Sam Blues
  11. Jimmy Rogers With His Rocking Four - The World Is In A Tangle
  12. Johnny Williams - Questionnaire Blues
  13. Lightnin' Hopkins - Sad News From Korea
  14. Doctor Ross - Little Soldier Boy
  15. Willie Mae Thornton - No Jody For Me
  16. L. B. Lawson - Missing In Action
  17. Sherman "Blues" Johnson - Lost In Korea
  18. Bobby Blue Bland - Army Blues
  19. Soldier Boy Houston - Far East Blues
  20. Homesick James - Wartime
  21. Little Maxie Bailey - Drive Soldiers Drive
  22. Sister Rosetta Tharpe - There's Peace In Korea
  23. Soldier Boy Houston - Leavin' Korea
  24. King Perry - Welcome Home Baby
  25. Memphis Slim & His House Rockers - Four Years Of Torment
  26. Dizzy Dixon With Al Smith's Combo - Soup Line
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock