THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Rocking The House - Jukebox Singles As & Bs 1947-1953

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Rocking The House - Jukebox Singles As & Bs 1947-1953
Rocking The House - Jukebox Singles As & Bs 1947-1953


Lloyd 'Tiny' Grimes was a master guitar player and a pioneer in the world of music at a time when R&B music was becoming Rock 'n' Roll, this compilation includes 26 tracks by the man many claim was the 'inventor' of Rock 'n' Roll.

Contains the A & B sides of records issued by the guitarist on Atlantic and Gotham labels between 1947 and 1953 including his 1948 hit 'Midnight Special'.

Musicians on these sessions include tenor sax player Red Prysock and bass player Ike Isaacs, both famous for their overall contribution to music. The appearance of Claudine Clark on the final track asks the question "Is it the same Miss Clark who recorded 'Party Lights' in 1962?"

The CD comes with an informative booklet containing label scans, photos and press ads for the artist from the time of the recordings.


  1. Name
  2. Blue Harlem
  3. Boogie Woogie Barbeque
  4. Profoundly Blue
  5. That Old Black Magic
  6. Midnight Special
  7. Annie Laurie
  8. Nightmare Blues
  9. Hot In Harlem
  10. Jealousy
  11. The Sidewalks Of New York
  12. See See Rider
  13. Rock The House
  14. Flying High
  15. Jumpin' At Gleason's
  16. Things Ain't What They Used To Be
  17. Drivin' And Jivin'
  18. Frankie & Johnny Boogie
  19. Riverside Jump
  20. Loch Lomond
  21. Sanctifying The Blues
  22. Hawaiian Boogie
  23. My Baby's Cool
  24. Rockin' And Sockin'
  25. Howling Blues
  26. Ho-Ho-Ho!
  27. Pert Skirt
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite