THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Freedom Train - The Texas Blues Of Lil' Son Jackson 1949-1955

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


Although the term Texas Blues is rather more synonymous with electric guitar slingers like T-Bone Walker and Albert Collins, acoustic Country Blues performers like Lightning Hopkins and Melvin "Lil' Son" Jackson were equally popular on their home patch.

Jackson emerged in the late 1940s and made the R&B Top 10 with his first release, 'Freedom Train Blues', for the Gold Star label, on which he was billed as "Little Son" Jackson, in 1948.

Although none showed up on the national R&B charts, his later Gold Star 78s were all massive regional "hits", selling in their tens of thousands to local jukebox operators.

He subsequently recorded extensively for Imperial, for whom his most notable release was 'Rockin' And Rollin' (1950), a disc which proved influential beyond all reasonable expectations, providing the template for Muddy Waters' 'Rock Me' (1956) and B.B. King's 'Rock Me Baby' (1964), and going on to become a major Blues standard.


  1. Name
  2. Gambling Blues
  3. Homeless Blues
  4. Cairo Blues
  5. Evil Blues
  6. Roberta Blues
  7. Freedom Train Blues
  8. Ground Hog Blues
  9. Bad Whiskey - Bad Women
  10. No Money No Love
  11. Gone With The Wind (She's Gone)
  12. Ticket Agent Blues
  13. True Love Blues
  14. Spending Money Blues
  15. Tough Luck Blues
  16. Peace Breaking People
  17. Rockin' And Rollin'
  18. Two Timin' Woman
  19. New Year's Resolution
  20. Mr. Blues
  21. Time Changes Things
  22. Stop For The Red Light
  23. Upstairs Boogie
  24. Big Gun Blues
  25. Get High Everybody
  26. My Younger Days
  27. Can't Keep A Good Man Down
  28. Sad Letter Blues
  29. Rockin' And Rollin'
  30. Pulp Wood Boogie
  31. Thrill Me Baby
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite