THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Penny Opus #1

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Penny Opus #1
The Penny Opus #1


This compilation dispels any doubt about Hank Penny's real talent; it comes from soon after the "Bloodshot Eyes" period of his career and also highlights the superb musicianship of his band, the California Cowboys, which included Noel Boggs on steel guitar. Maybe some of the comedy seems a little 'home-spun' by modern tastes, but it was typical of the period, for instance, "I Want My Rib" is the kind of material Phil Harris would have performed at this time; "You're Bound To Look Like A Monkey" is funny to any generation. The well-known tunes "Crazy Rhythm" and "Wang Wang Blues" are Western Swing at its best, and songs like "I'm Not In Love" and "We Met Too Late" are the kind of ballads which made Country a definable genre. "Won't You Ride In My Little Red Wagon", incidentally, was Penny's theme song.


  1. Name
  2. Alabama Jubilee
  3. I Want My Rib
  4. Things Are Getting Rough All Over
  5. Flamin' Mamie
  6. Kiss Me Honey (But Take Your Time)
  7. The Penny Opus #1
  8. No Muss, No Fuss, No Bother
  9. Peroxide Blond
  10. White Shotguns
  11. Crazy Rhythm
  12. Big Footed Sam From Birmingham
  13. Mister And Mississippi
  14. Rabbit's Don't Ever Get Married
  15. Wang Wang Blues
  16. I'm Not In Love, Just Involved
  17. Ship Of Broken Dreams
  18. Progressive Country Music For A Hollywood Flapper
  19. Don't Start Breathing Down My Neck
  20. Hold The Phone
  21. Won't You Ride In My Little Red Wagon
  22. We Met Too Late
  23. You're Bound To Look Like A Monkey (When You Grow Old)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock