THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Midnight Blues - The Early Recordings 1958-1960

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Midnight Blues - The Early Recordings 1958-1960
Midnight Blues - The Early Recordings 1958-1960


The great Charlie Rich was Sun Records' founder Sam Phillips' last major discovery, coming to the company after three leading members of Phillips' 'Million Dollar Quartet' had defected to other labels. His recordings for Phillips were not massively successful in terms of chart activity. But as can be heard in this new Jasmine compilation, their excellence and diversity provided the groundwork for the huge global success that would eventually come his way in the early to mid-1970s with hits like 'Behind Closed Doors' and 'The Most Beautiful Girl'. 'Midnight Blue" shows every facet of Charlie's massive talent, from the convincing rock 'n' roller of 'Whirlwind', 'Rebound' and his Hot 100 hit 'Lonely Weekends' to the jazzy crooner of 'Apple Blossom Time' to the inventive pianist of 'Red Man'. It also gives a sneak preview of the kind of hit that Charlie would score over and over again in the 70s, via the original version of his classic song 'Sittin' And Thinkin'. Every track that Phillips issued on Charlie between 1958 and 1962 is included in this collection, amounting to several singles and an album. Although very few of these recordings charted at the time, they do include some of the best music he ever made and several of the most important sides in his discography. Beautifully remastered from the best available sources, as always, this collection is the ideal introduction to the titanic career of one of country music's undisputed legends.


  1. Name
  2. Whirlwind
  3. Philadelphia Baby
  4. Rebound
  5. Big Man
  6. Lonely Weekends
  7. Everything I Do Is Wrong
  8. Gonna Be Waitin
  9. School Days
  10. On My Knees
  11. Stay
  12. Who Will The Next Fool Be
  13. Caught In The Middle
  14. Sad News (Instrumental) (As Bobby Sheridan)
  15. Red Man (Instrumental) (As Bobby Sheridan)
  16. Just A Little Bit Sweet
  17. Its Too Late
  18. Easy Money
  19. Midnight Blues
  20. Sittin And Thinkin
  21. I Finally Found Out
  22. C.C. Rider
  23. Apple Blossom Time
  24. Break Up
  25. Thats How Much I Love You
  26. Juanita
  27. Come Back
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide