THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Folk Songs From The City Limits

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


'Brother Acts' have always been a popular draw on Country music, dating as far back as the 1920s and for more than a quarter of a century - from the early 1950s onwards - genuine brothers Teddy and Doyle Wilburn were among the most popular of all, releasing in excess of two dozen albums and charting with over 30 singles between 1954 and 1972.

Stars of their own syndicated TV show, discoverers and nurturers of talented singers and songwriters of the calibre of Loretta Lynn and her sister Crystal Gayle. The Wilburn's boys were as high profile as high profile got in their prime.

Surprisingly, very little of their extensive discography has been reissued since the dawning of the CD era - but Jasmine's compilation goes some way to rectifying that by bringing together two albums from 1962 that demonstrate why the Wilburn's were so popular in their heyday. Neither "Folk Songs" nor "City Limits" has been reissued in any format previously, and nor have any of each album's individual tracks to the best of our knowledge.

Teddy and Doyle's pure hillbilly harmonies mesh well with 'The Nashville Sound' in its halcyon era, in a way that will surely appeal to any and every fan of 60s Country. If you have never heard the Wilburn Brothers, this as a perfect set with which to start your collection - remastered as always from the best possible sources, and sounding better than ever before!

Jasmine is happy to put these hard-to-find recordings back into circulation almost 60 years after they first appeared on vinyl. We are confident that "Folk Songs From The City Limits" will prove to be a winner and a collection that will lead to further Jasmine explorations of the Wilburn's relatively unexplored back catalogue.


  1. Name
  2. Breaking In A Brand New Broken Heart
  3. The Wild Side Of Life
  4. Answer Me (My Love)
  5. Take Good Care Of Her
  6. Near You
  7. Burning Bridges
  8. I Fall To Pieces
  9. Young But True Love
  10. Just Call Me Lonesome
  11. Release Me
  12. No Letter Today
  13. I'm Beginning To Know About Me
  14. Roll On Buddy, Roll On
  15. Cottonfields
  16. If You Don't Love Me
  17. Mountain Dew
  18. Barbara Allen
  19. Graveyard Shift
  20. Little Home In Tennessee
  21. Oh! Monah
  22. Michael (Row The Boat Ashore)
  23. What's Gonna Become Of Me
  24. Left My Gal In The Woods
  25. Beneath The Willow Tree
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite