THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The King of Country Music - The 45s 1957-1962

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The King of Country Music - The 45s 1957-1962
The King of Country Music - The 45s 1957-1962


Roy Acuff is a legendary country music artist alongside other early legends Jimmy Rodgers and The Carter Family, he joined Hickory Records, the label he co-owned, in 1957 and this is the first time his releases for the label between 1957 and 1962 have been compiled in such a comprehensive way.

Includes country music classics like 'The Wreck On The Highway', 'The Great Speckled Bird', 'Wabash Cannonball' and 'Fireball Mail'. 26 tracks covering every Hickory label 7" single released by the artist between 1957 and 1962.

The accompanying booklet contains the recording dates, the original catalogue numbers, all writers' credits and a detailed history of Acuff's life and career, together with scans of adverts and record labels.

A package sure to be well received by fans of country music from the 1950s and 1960s, the original glory days of the genre.


  1. Name
  2. Once More
  3. I Don't Care (If You Don't Love Me)
  4. The One I Love (Is Gone)
  5. Searchin' For Happiness
  6. So Many Times
  7. They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
  8. Come And Knock (On The Door Of My Heart)
  9. (Today) My Love Came Back To Me
  10. Nero Played His Fiddle (While Rome Burned)
  11. Write Me Sweetheart
  12. Don't Know Why
  13. Thanks For Not Telling Me
  14. Mountain Guitar
  15. Till No Longer You Cared (For Me)
  16. Time Will Make You Pay
  17. The Streamlined Cannon Ball
  18. Lost John, He's Gone
  19. Little Mary
  20. Six More Days
  21. Willie Roy, The Crippled Boy
  22. Wabash Cannonball
  23. The Old Age Pension Check
  24. Lonely Mound Of Clay
  25. Pins And Needles (In My Heart)
  26. The Great Speckled Bird
  27. Fireball Mail
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite