THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Makin' Love - The Floyd Robinson Story 1952-1962

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Makin' Love - The Floyd Robinson Story 1952-1962
Makin' Love - The Floyd Robinson Story 1952-1962


Although Floyd Robinson is largely remembered as the archetypal "One-Hit-Wonder", for his 1959 million-seller 'Makin' Love', there was rather more to him than that.

A multi-talented performer, he carved out parallel careers as a country singer (he was a member of the Grand Ole Opry in 1949, at the age of seventeen), pop singer, songwriter, and session guitarist / pedal steel player, while in the 1970s, he went on to cut a hugely successful series of Christian-themed children's albums.

This compilation presents a "Very Best Of" Floyd's early career, between 1952-62, starting with his recordings with Autry Inman as Jack & Daniel, and finds him involved in hillbilly, honky-tonk, country and mainstream pop.

This is the first time that this body of work has been thus compiled (earlier anthologies have concentrated entirely on Robinson's pop and novelty recordings) and many sides featured herein have never previously appeared in the digital format.


  1. Name
  2. Throwing Water On The Flame
  3. All Hope Is Gone
  4. Tennessee Tango
  5. Don't Make Love In A Buggy ('Cause Horses Carry Tails)
  6. Every Day We're Apart
  7. I Love You Darling (I Do)
  8. Knothole
  9. I Couldn't Keep From Crying
  10. Satisfied With You
  11. Forget The Deal
  12. Old Flame
  13. Oh What I'd Give
  14. What Will It Take
  15. G-I-R-L, Girl
  16. The Man In The Moon Is A Lady
  17. Makin' Love
  18. My Girl
  19. Tonight You Belong To Me
  20. Let It Be Me (Je T'appartiens)
  21. Little Sir Echo (Little Miss Echo)
  22. Back In School Again
  23. One More Time
  24. The Magic Lamp
  25. Rainbow
  26. Tattletale
  27. I Believe In Love
  28. Boys And Girls
  29. Why Can't It Go On
  30. Out Of Gas
  31. Mother Nature
  32. Is There Something I Ought To Know
  33. Don't Make Me Fall (In Love With You)
  34. The Art Of Making Love
  35. I Need You
  36. Show Boat
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite