THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Looking Forward, Looking Back

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Looking Forward, Looking Back
Looking Forward, Looking Back


'Looking Forward, Looking Back' is the third album by Threeway, bassist/composer Ben Crosland's chamber jazz trio, featuring Steve Lodder on piano and keyboards and Steve Waterman on trumpet and flugelhorn. The album also features star vibraphonist Jim Hart.

After expanding the band into a sextet for the Brass Group recording of 'An Open Place', Crosland has returned to the trio format for this album, albeit with a twist - it features vibraphonist Jim Hart, as a special guest on half of the tracks. The adding of Hart's virtuoso vibes playing brings an added percussive edge to the music and variety to the album's sound texture.

After leading his quartet, quintet and octet for fifteen years, Crosland formed the trio in 2004 with his two long-term associates, Waterman and Lodder, in order to explore the subtle and open possibilities of a group without drums. The trio approaches improvisation in a subtle manner; the interplay between the players creates a natural intensity combined with an acute sensitivity to dynamics.

Personnel: Ben Crosland (bass), Steve Lodder (piano, keyboards), Steve Waterman (trumpet, flugelhorn), Jim Hart (vibraphone)

"A chamber trio that generates intimacy and heat." - MOJO

"Three stellar musicians...the reactions and interplay are as near to perfection as anyone could want." - Jazzwise


  1. Name
  2. The Corridor of Uncertainty
  3. Song for Dorothy
  4. Soul Sample
  5. Destination Unknown
  6. CQD
  7. Blues for Jeff
  8. Modest Earner Ernie's Scarborough Seaside Escape
  9. Lost Weekend
  10. Firefly
  11. Blue Butterfly
  12. Slow Train Home
  13. Sting in the Tail
  14. Hymn for Christmas
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite