THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Dreams of New Orleans

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Dreams of New Orleans
Dreams of New Orleans


Wycliffe Gordon, a world-class trombonist-composer and longstanding member of the Jazz at Lincoln Centre Orchestra directed by Wynton Marsalis, re-imagines 15 classic New Orleans tunes on 'Dreams of New Orleans'. Gordon injects clever intros and surprising twists that breathe new life into these unforgettable songs from the ragtime era and the birth of hot jazz.

Gordon puts his own spin on warhorses like "When the Saints Go Marching In", "St. Louis Blues", "Tiger Rag" and "Royal Garden Blues", while paying reverence to the tradition of the music created by jazz innovators such as Jelly Roll Morton, King Oliver, Kid Ory and Louis Armstrong. Utilising the Chesky Records 'Binaural+' recording technique 'Dreams of New Orleans' sounds fresh, crystal clear and live, with a polished sheen.

Personnel: Wycliffe Gordon (trombones, trumpet, vocals), Jon Erik-Kellso (trumpet, backing vocals), Adrian Cunningham (clarinet, soprano saxophone), Michael Dease (trombone, tenor and baritone saxophone, trumpet, backing vocals), Matt Munisteri (guitar, banjo, vocals), Ibanda Ruhumbika (tuba), Marion Felder (drums)


  1. Name
  2. When the Saints Go Marching In
  3. Darktown Stutters' Ball
  4. St Louis Blues
  5. Chinatown
  6. Panama
  7. Li' Liza Jane
  8. Some of These Days
  9. Tiger Rag
  10. Avalon
  11. Royal Garden Blues
  12. St Louis Blues
  13. Won't You Please Come Home Bill Bailey
  14. Back Home Again in Indiana
  15. Down By the Riverside
  16. Sweet Papa, Mama's Getting Mad
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide