THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Hello Cold Goodbye Sun

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Hello Cold Goodbye Sun
Hello Cold Goodbye Sun


Brand new album from acclaimed and award winning Edinburgh folk and bluegrass collective. Atmospheric and experimental sounding roots music abound on this, their fifth, album. January sees the release of the fifth Southern Tenant Folk Union album 'Hello Cold Goodbye Sun', a collection of new and original material written by five of the collective's members. With a more difficult and emotionally charged pre-production process than on previous albums the band have developed a set of songs that build on some of the soundscape folk from the acclaimed 4th album 'Pencaitland' as well as showcasing the growing songwriting, instrumental and vocal talent from within the band. Originally proposed with a focusing theme of 'modern horror' (as a lyrical and a musical basis for a cohesive album with influence from John Carpenter, Fabio Frizzi and Goblin) the band's ideas diversified and led away before all coming back together finally in the recording studio (once again the album was recorded live in a circle of microphones by Lau sound engineer Tim Matthew). The discovery of Jed Milroy's talent on the clarinet feeds the claustrophobic atmosphere of tracks like 'Crash', 'Chest Freezer' and 'Conscience Falls'. Plus the important addition of guest percussionist Steve Fivey (on Cajon and Djemebe) drives the backbeat of tracks like 'Goodbye Sun', 'Men In Robes' and 'Days By The Seaside With Ice Cream'.


  1. Name
  2. Goodbye Sun
  3. Dark Passenger
  4. Crash
  5. Men In Robes
  6. Conscience Falls
  7. Relic Of A Reasonable Mind
  8. Days By The Seaside With Ice Cream
  9. Chest Freezer
  10. An Duil
  11. Aberdour
  12. Spey River
  13. They Stand Alone
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock