THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Song For My Father

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Song For My Father
Song For My Father


Trumpeter/composer Gabriel Garrick pays tribute to the great legacy that was passed on by his late father, the pianist Michael Garrick, who was an influential figure on the British jazz scene from the 1960s until his death in 2011.

The Standards Septet was created with the idea of "playing tunes that I like with some guys whom I love playing with" says Gabriel. The programme includes classic jazz standards such as the title track, "Song For My Father", "In a Mellotone", "Mood Indigo", "Cherokee" and "Out of Nowhere" alongside some original swingers composed by Gabriel.

"This is music of genuine vigour, bustling creativity and broad-minded provenance. It's also brilliantly executed and very satisfying indeed. Would father have approved? For sure." - Peter Vacher (from the liner notes).

Personnel: Gabriel Garrick (trumpet, flugelhorn), Martin Hathaway (alto saxophone, clarinet), Jon Stokes (trombone), Martin Kolarides (guitar), Peter James (piano), Joe Pettitt (bass), Patrick Davey (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Index
  3. Song For My Father
  4. Come and See
  5. Mood Indigo
  6. In a Mellotone
  7. Wasted Time
  8. Bye Bye Blues
  9. Fats
  10. Out of Nowhere
  11. Cherokee
  12. Down By the Riverside/Bourbon Street Parade
  13. I Remember Clifford
  14. What is This Thing Called Love
  15. Look Up! (at the stars)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock