Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Toshio Hosokawa: Solo

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Toshio Hosokawa: Solo
Toshio Hosokawa: Solo


Toshio Hosokawa, Japans pre-eminent living composer, creates his distinctive musical language from the fascinating relationship between Western avant-garde art and traditional Japanese culture. His music is strongly connected to the aesthetic and spiritual roots of the Japanese arts (such as calligraphy), as well as to those of Japanese court music (such as Gagaku). He gives musical expression to notions of beauty rooted in transience: We hear the individual notes and appreciate, at the same time, the process of how the notes are born and die: a sound landscape of continual becoming that is animated in itself. This album is part of Klangforum Wiens Solo 5-CD series of recordings of pieces for one performer, which is the ensembles response to the 2020 Covid-19 pandemic.


  1. Name
  2. Oshio Hosokawa: Haiku For Pierre Boulez (2000 / 2003) For Piano
  3. Spell Song (2015) For Oboe
  4. Small Chant (2012) For Violoncello
  5. Two Japanese Folk Songs (2003) For Harp I. Falling Cherry Blossoms
  6. Lullaby Of Itsuki
  7. Extasis (rev. 2020) For Violin
  8. Voice (2020) For Trombone
  9. Edi (2009) For Clarinet
  10. Senn VI (1993) For Percussion
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite