THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Twice Born Men

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Twice Born Men
Twice Born Men


2015 saw the UK's unsung heroes of experimental art rock London based Sweet Billy Pilgrim, join the Kscope roster and release their label debut & fourth album 'Motorcade Amnesiacs' to critical media acclaim. Following on from the release of 'Motorcade Amnesiacs', Kscope began the re-release campaign for the band's earlier albums with their 2005 debut 'We Just Did What Happened And No One Came', 23rd September sees the release of the band's 2009 Mercury Prize Nominated album 'Twice Born Men'. The 2016 CD version of 'Twice Born Men' has been remastered by Sweet Billy Pilgrim's Tim Elsenburg and Francis Kimberley (Hungry Bear Mastering), features 3 exclusive bonus tracks including 'Broken Down Procession' (a collaboration with Adem, taken from BBC Radio 3's Late Junction) & 'In The Flesh?' (Pink Floyd cover). The album has brand new cover artwork and also features sleeve notes written by current vocalist Jana Carpenter. The CD will be presented in a digipack with 4 page colour booklet featuring lyrics. The trio - Tim Elsenburg ( singing, guitar, producer, mixing), Anthony Bishop (banjo, bass) and Alistair Hamer (sequencing, drums) caused quite a stir with their, navigating the delicate path between self-referential art rock and melodic folk rock; their follow up in 2009 'Twice Born Men', originally released on David Sylvian's Samadhi Sound label, saw the Sunday Times awarding it 5 Stars and CD of the Week as well as an inclusion in their Top 100 Albums of 2009.

'Twice Born Men' is at heart a melodic beast complimented by the exquisite swooning shiver of Elsenburg's vocal, ultimately, a beautiful album, which will appeal to fans of alt country and art-pop and should also be appreciated by lovers of great music everywhere.

Press comments on Twice Born Men: "Twice Born Men is an unassuming thing of minor beauty"-- The Wire (UK) "Second from atmospheric trio is a thing of beauty" -- 4 Stars --Uncut Magazine (UK) "Like an folk-tronic Elbow .. glitch noise and banjo blended with a flair for abstraction. Shy melodies' provide occasional anchor for the rippling tides of sound" 4 stars The Independent (UK)


  1. Name
  2. Here It Begins ( 02:34 )
  3. Truth Only Smiles ( 05:03 )
  4. Bloodless Coup ( 05:42 )
  5. Longshore Drift ( 04:59 )
  6. Kalypso ( 06:26 )
  7. Future Perfect Tense ( 04:27 )
  8. Joy Maker Machinery ( 06:55 )
  9. There Will It End ( 04:45 )
  10. Broken Down Procession ( Bonus Track ) ( 15:24 )
  11. Amina ( Bonus Track ) ( 05:28 )
  12. In The Flesh ? ( Bonus Track ) ( 04:01 )
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock