THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Songs From The Haunted South

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Songs From The Haunted South
Songs From The Haunted South



FEAT. John Mark Lapham (The Earlies / The Late Cord) The debut album from Old Fire, 'Songs From The Haunted South', is released on vinyl for the first time on Kscope. The pet project of Texas based programmer John Mark Lapham, - of The Earlies and 4AD band The Late Cord fame - Old Fire joins a world-class roster that includes the likes of Steven Wilson, The Pineapple Thief, Anathema, Nordic Giants and The Anchoress. Taking nearly a decade to make, 'Songs From The Haunted South' has been a labour of love for Lapham.

Born from an album concept for a 4AD project with singer Micah P. Hinson (The Late Cord), the album was originally intended to feature different singers and musicians recording songs that were both covers and originals. After parting ways with Micah, Lapham remained determined to realize his vision for the album and sought voices he considered special or fitted the inspiration.

The first piece of the puzzle fell in to place after meeting the former owner of 4AD, Ivo Watts Russell, who introduced Lapham to singer/songwriter, Tom Rapp - who recorded a string of haunting albums in the late 60s and 70s under the name Pearls Before Swine. The vocals Rapp provided formed the basis of the track Shadows. In the following years, guest vocals were recorded by Sara Lowes (The Earlies), DM Stith, Christopher Barnes (Gem Club), Rebekka Karijord, and Alex Maas (Black Angels). The project also features a myriad of exceptional musicians including DM Stith - piano and guitar, Christopher Barnes (Gem Club) - Piano, Warren Defever (His Name Is Alive) - Guitar, Thor Harris (Swans) - Drums, Christian Madden - Rhodes piano & Organ and Semay Wu -Cello.

The 13 track album contains a selection of songs that in one way or another are dedications to people, some dead and some still living. Musically, inspirations range from ambient artists such as Brian Eno and Stars of the Lid to Psychedelic Rock, traditional Country and early 4AD. Sitting alongside the original Old Fire compositions are a selection of intriguing cover versions. Lapham uniquely interprets songs by Psychic TV ( The Orchids), Low (Laser Beam), Ian William Craig (A Sight Grip, A Gentle Hold), Jason Molina (It's Easier Now), Camberwell Now (Know How) and Shearwater (Helix).

The powerful cover art was designed by UK's Grammy Award winning designer Vaughan Oliver, famed for his work with artists such as Mojave 3, Lush, Cocteau Twins, Dead Can Dance, The Breeders, This Mortal Coil, Pixies, Throwing Muses in addition to artists such as David Sylvian and Bush. The cover shot taken in 1958 features Lapham's father during bivouac camping basic training in the foothills of the Ozarks, at Fort Chaffee.

Kscope are pressing Old Fire's applauded debut to 180g heavyweight audiophile vinyl as a double LP cut at 45rpm.

"...stands toe to toe with the best Brian Eno has ever released... the kind of record that stays with you, permanently." - Outburn (9/10)

" engaging, visionary record that blends many different influences and styles in to a compelling whole" - Folk Radio UK

"Anyone missing This Mortal Coil, roll up..." 4/5 MOJO


  1. Name
  2. Old Fire 3 ( 03:21 )
  3. Along Came A Sadness ( 02:00 )
  4. Helix ( 04:29 )
  5. Know How ( 03:50 )
  6. It's Easier Now ( 04:56 )
  7. A Stranger In The Family ( 04:11 )
  8. Bloodchild ( 04:23 )
  9. Faust ( 02:04 )
  10. Shadows ( 05:26 )
  11. A Slight Grip, A Gentle Hold ( 03:56 )
  12. Laser Beam ( 04:22 )
  13. The Orchids ( 03:04 )
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock