THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Robert Schumann: Frauenliebe Und -leben, Op. 42 / Liederkrei

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Robert Schumann: Frauenliebe Und -leben, Op. 42 / Liederkrei
Robert Schumann: Frauenliebe Und -leben, Op. 42 / Liederkrei


Schumann's astonishing outpouring of songs in his so-called "Liederjahr" was inspired by his love for Clara, whom he married in September that year after prolonged and acrimonious opposition from her father. "Not to be missed." - Musicweb International Frauenliebe und-leben, Opus 42 is a sequence of eight songs, a true song-cycle unified by a continuing narrative and recurring musical material. The poems are by Adelbert von Chamisso, who was French-born but grew up in Germany. These verses (previously set in 1836 by Carl Loewe) provided a subject with which Schumann could closely identify ? a young woman's love and life.. From dazzled ("blind") adoration of her lover, she progresses to marriage, experience of motherhood, and finally bereavement. Schumann completed his Liederkreis (literally "song-circle"), Opus 24 in a few days during February 1840, setting a sequence of nine poems from Junge Leiden (Youthful Sorrows), the first section of Heine's Buch der Lieder. Schumann wrote to Clara "while I was composing, my thoughts were only of you." Here in his first Liederkreis (? a second work of this name, Opus 39, has texts by Eichendorff) and in many other Schumann songs from this period, there are natural parallels with his own fluctuating emotions while courting Clara in spite of her father's violent opposition. Unfortunate in love, Heine took out his frustration and sometimes anguish in his verses, but Schumann was relatively unscarred and his deep affection for Clara prevailed. These songs are performed by Marianne Beate Kielland (mezzo) who has developed a keen following, accompanied by Johannes Weisser (baritone) and Nils Anders Mortensen (piano). Highly recommended.


  1. Name
  2. Robert Schumann: Myrthen, Op. 25: III. Der Nussbaum
  3. Frauenliebe Und -leben, Op. 42: I. Seit Ich Ihn Gesehen
  4. II. Er, Der Herrlichste Von Allen
  5. III. Ich Kann's Nicht Fassen
  6. IV. Du Ring An Meinem Finger
  7. V. Helft Mir, Ihr Schwestern
  8. VI. S?sser Freund, Du Blickest
  9. VII. An Meinem Herzen
  10. VIII. Nun Hast Du Mir Den Ersten Schmerz Getan
  11. Myrthen, Op. 25: VII. Die Lotosblume
  12. Liederkreis, Op. 24: I. Morgens Steh' Ich Auf
  13. II. Es Treibt Mich Hin
  14. III. Ich Wandelte Unter Den B?umen
  15. IV. Lieb' Liebchen
  16. V. Sch?ne Wiege Meiner Leiden
  17. VI. Warte, Warte, Wilder Schiffmann
  18. VII. Berg' Und Burgen Schau'n Herunter
  19. VIII. Anfangs Wollt' Ich Fast Verzagen
  20. IX. Mit Myrthen Und Rosen
  21. Myrthen, Op. 25: I. Widmung
  22. Gedichte Der K?nigin Maria Stuart, Op. 135: I. Abschied Von Frankreich
  23. II. Nach Der Geburt Ihres Sohnes
  24. III. An Die K?nigin Elisabeth
  25. IV. Abschied Von Der Welt
  26. V. Gebet
  27. Myrthen, Op. 25: XXIV. Du Bist Wie Eine Blume
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite