THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Humphrey Lyttelton 1959

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Humphrey Lyttelton 1959
Humphrey Lyttelton 1959


Two classic Humphrey Lyttelton albums from 1959 reissued on a double CD for the price of one collection. In 1959 Humphrey Lyttelton & His Band recorded two LPs and a single. All are included in the collection. The two LPs were very different in concept but became two of Lyttelton's most sought after, 'Humph Dedicates' and 'Triple Exposure'. 'Humph Dedicates' was a collection of tunes associated with Jazz legends (Armstrong, Ellington, Goodman, Hampton, Bechet etc) whereas 'Triple Exposure' featured tunes written by British composers: Harry South, Kenny Graham and Humphrey Lyttelton himself. Recorded within a few months of each other they capture one of Humph's classic Mainstream line-ups (Tony Coe, Jimmy Skidmore, Joe Temperley, John Picard et al) at its peak. Despite their different approaches the two albums slot together seamlessly largely due to some superb arrangements. The set is enhanced by six previously unissued tracks.


  1. Name
  2. Take The `A' Train
  3. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  4. Swingtime In The Rockies
  5. I Can't Get Started
  6. Southern Sunset
  7. For Dancers Only
  8. Stompin' At The Savoy
  9. Midnight Sun
  10. Alligator Crawl
  11. Blue And Sentimental
  12. Marie; Nightmare
  13. Singin' The Blues
  14. Stompy Jones
  15. Manhunt; Summertime
  16. Finger Snapper
  17. It's All Up With I
  18. Swallowing The Blues
  19. One Day I Met An African
  20. Only For Men
  21. South Winds; Sweet And Sour
  22. Holy Main
  23. Any Kind Of Blues
  24. Kilroy Was Gone
  25. The House That Humph Built
  26. Lean Baby
  27. Rain; Big Bill Blues
  28. Weary Blues
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite