THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Colyer's Pleasure

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Colyer's Pleasure
Colyer's Pleasure


Ken Colyer is one of the legends of British Jazz. Known as the 'Guvnor' Colyer was an ardent purist for New Orleans Jazz.

Lake Records have been asked over and over again for this CD which is a re-issue of the long deleted LACD34 plus one extra track. It features the band in 1962 and is the only commercially issued full album recorded by this line-up. It features a very young Sammy Rimington on clarinet alongside Geoff Cole on trombone in the frontline. Newcomer Pete Ridge on drums joins the two longest serving Jazzmen, Ron Ward and John Bastable.

This is regarded as the best all round album the band ever made in terms of recorded sound and programme. The band is on top form: on the one hand turning in a gently rolling rendition of 'Barefoot Boy' and on the other a storming 'Mahogany Hall Stomp'.

The original LP has six tracks added to it which come from a session recorded for the Michael Winner directed film 'West Eleven'. In the end only part of one track was ever used.


  1. Name
  2. That Teasin' Rag
  3. After You've Gone
  4. Highway Blues
  5. Dardanella
  6. You Can't Escape From Me
  7. You Always Hurt The One You Love
  8. Creole Bo-bo (version 1)
  9. Honeysuckle Rose
  10. Barefoot Boy
  11. Mahogany Hall Stomp
  12. Gettysburg March
  13. La Harpe Street Blues
  14. Thriller Rag
  15. I'm Travelling
  16. Virginia Strut
  17. Creole Bo-bo (version 2)
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite