THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Sweet Nothings

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Sweet Nothings
Sweet Nothings


Ive been going wild, like the river runs. And Im afraid that this rambling has only just begun. So sings Ward Hayden, singer/songwriter of Girls Guns and Glory, on the bands new album Sweet Nothings (Lonesome Day, 2011). These words, found in the song Snakeskin Belt, are an apt introduction to the band itself, which combines elements of early rock n roll, country, and rhythm & blues to deliver its own brand of fun lovin, hard timin, sweet and tasty American Roots music that satisfies like homemade apple pie. Girls Guns and Glory is the brainchild of Ward Hayden. His original compositions conjure up themes of love lost and hope found. The Boston Globe said, Girls Guns and Glory delivered a graceful, sturdy set of Buddy Holly-meets-Buck Owens twang n roll that translated to the nights most sublime performance. Singer-guitarist Ward Hayden has the pillowy voice of a 50s pin-up starthe constant comparisons to crooners like Chris Isaak and Lyle Lovett are well-deservedand his bands amber-soaked melodies, tight musicianship, and casual elegance were a tonic to an evening. GGG is an internationally touring band, named Independent Artist of the Year at the French Country Music Awards, and two-time winner of both the Roots Act of Year (Boston Phoenix Awards) and Americana Act of the Year (Boston Music Awards). GGG is also the only band of its genre to ever take home the top honors of Act of the Year (Boston Music Awards) and to win the legendary WBCN Rock n Roll Rumble. Hayden, who originally hails from Scituate, MA, leads the band on Vocals and Acoustic Guitar. Hes joined by Pennsylvania transplants Chris Hersch on Electric Guitar, Michael Calabrese on Drums/Vocals, and Paul Zaz Dilley on Upright/Electric Bass. They are a well-trained group: Hersch and Calabrese went to the New England Conservatory of Music and Dilley attended Berklee College of Music. This is a group that cut its teeth on the road, and their resulting chemistry on stage is enjoyably electric. When Girls Guns and Glory take the stage they play their hearts out with genuine honesty and naked emotion. The band has just begun to scratch the surface of what they can do with their 4th full-length studio release, Sweet Nothings, produced by Paul Q. Kolderie (Radiohead, Uncle Tupelo, Lemonheads) and Adam Taylor (Sarah Borges, Portugal The Man). Listen for Herschs baritone guitar and Fender Six, Calabreses harmony vocals, Dilleys mellotron, and Haydens vocal duet with Sarah Borges. The album is a masterful follow-up to the bands earlier endeavors, Inverted Valentine (2008), Pretty Little Wrecking Ball (2007), and Fireworks and Alcohol (2006).


  1. Name
  2. Baby's Got A Dream
  3. Sweet Nothings
  4. Nighttime
  5. Last Night I Dreamed
  6. Maryanne
  7. Root Cellar
  8. 1,000 Times
  9. This Old House
  10. Snake Skin Belt
  11. Not A Girl Left In The World
  12. The Universe Began
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite