THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Ain't No Lady

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Ain't No Lady
Ain't No Lady


Ain't No Lady, is the eagerly awaited first album from Sister Suzie who has been bringing her undiluted Northumberland down-home charm to the southern climes of England for the last few years.

It perfectly captures the soulful vocalising, and magnetic stage presence she takes to new heights with every exciting performance of this great band.

The trio of players forming the hard core of the Right Band are Matt Jackson on guitar, Eddie Edwards on double bass and Brian Nevill on drums, augmented by a hand-picked gang of sax players from the UK's finest.

Early in 2017 Suzie and the band released a 45rpm single on their own label. By October the same year, they realised they needed the warmth of analogue tape and a sympathetic studio to capture the sound they knew they were getting live. Also, by this time Suzie had penned a clutch of original songs she was keen to get down. The twelve tracks on "Ain't No Lady" were cut over a handful of sessions at Gizzard Analogue Studios and the results were exactly what everybody wanted.

The album pays tribute to the R&B stars that have influenced Suzie so much, Elmore James, Jimmy Rogers, Big Mama Thornton and Irma Thomas. We think you will not find the fire in her versions lacking in any way. But the cream of the crop must be the set of originals Suzie and the band have honed for the studio. Including the title track, these vary hugely from the soulful some say tearful - ballad, Yours, to the hard-edged rockers, Desire and Big Mistake, and the 'second-line rumpus on speed' that is New Shoes.


  1. Name
  2. Knock Knock
  3. Can't Hold Out
  4. Working Girl
  5. Ruler Of My Heart
  6. Ain't No Lady
  7. Just Like An Old Dog
  8. Stop These Teardrops
  9. Yours
  10. Sloppy Drunk
  11. New Shoes
  12. Desire
  13. Big Mistake
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock