THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Break Time

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Break Time
Break Time


As a founding member of The E Street Band, Garry Tallent has spent a considerable portion of his life touring the world and playing for legions of fans. In between these musical campaigns, the question fans most often ask is, "So, what do you do in your break time?" With his new album, Garry now has the perfect answer. Break Time is a wonderfully raucous collection of twelve original songs, all written or co-written by Garry. Reaching back to the sounds that initially inspired him; the songs on Break Time use the music of the '50s as a framework. But this is no museum piece! Using a largely acoustic ensemble, Garry captures the timeless energy of the era when rock and roots music was born. Upright bass, accordion, arch-top guitar and real drums come together in a jubilant festival of song. Drawing from the rich pool of Nashville players, Garry assembled an ace studio crew to help him bring these songs to life. Special guests include guitar giant Duane Eddy, whose unmistakable twang can be heard on "Promise to My Heart," fellow E Street Band member Nils Lofgren adds harmony vocals on "Ooh La La," and Cajun superstar Doug Kershaw sings on "Bayou Love." Music City chanteuse Kristi Rose duets with Garry on the first single, the rockabilly boppin' "Stay Away." A video for the single has been shot by master artist Bob Delevante, coming soon to a screen near you. Recorded live to 8-track tape at Nashville musician Paul Burch's Pan American Studios, Break Time is a triumph of analog music making. Co-produced by Garry and Eddie Angel, founder of Los Straitjackets, it sounds like the work of a man who has been in love with rock and roll his entire life. And that's exactly what it is; Every last note of it.


  1. Name
  2. Ooh La La
  3. Bayou Love
  4. Tell 'Em I'm Broke
  5. Today's The Day
  6. Promise To My Heart
  7. I Love 'Em All
  8. Charlene
  9. Ants In Her Pants
  10. Say It Out Loud
  11. If Love Would Change Your Mind
  12. Stay Away
  13. Why Do You Do Me Like That?
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite