THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Pink City

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Pink City
Pink City


Greeted in Canada with five star reviews from Now Magazine and the country's national daily The Globe and Mail, Castlemusic firmly established Jennifer as one of the country's most talented singer/songwriters. Her intuitive take on musical tradition coupled with a deeply affecting and instantly recognizable voice soon found its way beyond Canada when Castlemusic was rereleased 8 months later on American label No Quarter Records. Profiles and reviews for the record subsequently appeared in Spin, NPR, Time Out New York and Brooklyn Vegan as Jennifer toured in support of the record throughout North America including support for kindred spirits Cass McCombs, Kurt Vile and Lower Dens. Perhaps the most notable praise was from Greil Marcus, writing for The Believer, who stated "Castle reaches a pitch of mystical transport so gorgeously ethereal she seems about to drift off into lands that don't appear on any map". With promotion for Castlemusic slowing down in 2013, Jennifer returned to the studio to work on Pink City. A collection of intimate reflections on both the internal and external world, Pink City displays a sharpened musical focus showcasing Jennifer's powers as a writer and performer amidst a new sense of sonic clarity. The reunited production team of Castle, Dave Clarke and Jeff McMurrich invited a host of musical friends to embellish their vision. Owen Pallett provides string arrangements for a number of songs including the cinematic opener Truth is the Freshest Fruit and stirring ballad I'm Like A Gun. Other notable guests include American folk legend Kath Bloom providing inspirational harmonica on side A closer Down River. Throughout the album downtown Toronto's finest musical stalwarts, such as Ryan Driver (piano,flute), Mike Smith (bass, arrangements), Paul Mortimer (guitar), Jonathan Adjemian (piano and keys) and Brodie West (saxophone), provide stunning support.


  1. Name
  2. Truth Is The Freshest Fruit
  3. Working For The Man
  4. Sparta
  5. Nature
  6. Down River
  7. Sailing Away
  8. Like A Gun
  9. How Or Why
  10. Broken Vase
  11. Pink City
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide