Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Carbon Glacier

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Carbon Glacier
Carbon Glacier


Carbon Glacier was originally released on CD in 2004, later released on vinyl in 2007. It has been out of print since 2010. It is widely seen as a groundbreaking album in the Laura Veirs canon. "With her landmark fourth album, Veirs evoked the Pacific Northwest in climactic imagery" - Uncut "Carbon Glacier is a cold, beautiful and engaging record that translates the bleak, isolated vastness of nature into the bleak, isolated vastness of the modern city-sprawl, leaving one voice to sing in solitude." - Pitchfork "This is an oddly beautiful album - far more engaging than you'd expect of one written in a grey Seattle winter, pondering mortality, Moby Dick, and the great sheet of blackened ice after which it's named." - The Guardian "Producer/drummer Tucker Martine (Modest Mouse). Martine allows the experimentation to bloom in all the right places, resulting in a record that never overworks itself, despite being packed to the gills with ghostly glockenspiels, organs, random percussion, and trombone. Veirs' hypnotic voice cuts through it all with deadpan sincerity -- she's equally capable of pitch- perfect beauty ("Lonely Angel Dust") or tightrope uneasiness ("Icebound Stream") -- that comes off somewhere between Nina Nastasia and Jolie Holland." - All Music Guide


  1. Name
  2. Ether Sings
  3. Icebound Stream
  4. Rapture
  5. Lonely Angel Dust
  6. The Cloud Room
  7. Wind Is Blowing Stars
  8. Shadow Blues
  9. Anne Bonny Rag
  10. Snow Camoing
  11. Chimney Sweeping Man
  12. Salvage A Smile
  13. Blackened Anchor
  14. Riptide
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite